Differences between iOS 9 public beta and Dev beta?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by richwoodrocket, Jul 9, 2015.

  1. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #1
    I installed the public beta, and I've noticed a ton of differences between it and the Dev beta.
    Here's a list of things I've noticed.
    You can't select what the side switch is used for
    No safari content blocker
    No video resolution settings
    No FPS settings
    You can't use the keyboard as a cursor
    Anybody else have anything to add to this list?
     
  2. pixelwix macrumors member

    pixelwix

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #2
    i don't know how that possible when they are both the same build...?
     
  3. richwoodrocket thread starter macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #3
    For example, what I see...
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1436501122.296057.jpg
    What there should be.
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1436501187.066257.jpg
     
  4. AJT-au macrumors member

    AJT-au

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Are you trying to do the keyboard cursor thing on an iPhone or iPad? I think it is iPad only. It seems to be working on my iPad. image.png
     
  5. peter08po macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    #5
  6. johnparjr macrumors 6502a

    johnparjr

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    Im on the public beta and I see the 2nd picture with the FPS
     
  7. richwoodrocket thread starter macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #7
    iPhone. I'm pretty sure my friend on the Dev beta showed me the cursor thing working on his iphone.
     
  8. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    they removed it on beta 3
     
  9. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #9
    First is gone from Dev beta 2.
    Second requires developer support. It automatically hides when no blocker is installed.
    Third depends on iPhone model. You should not expect iPhone 4s could give you such option.
    Fourth is the same as third.
    Sixth seems to be iPad only, although iPhone should be covered with such feature. Hope future build could add it back, and make it solid in final build.

    I believe PB 1 and DB 3 are identical.
     
  10. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    Because your on an iPhone 5c you won't see those camera settings. As for the keyboard just make sure you hold down two fingers for a couple of seconds, that should work. The dev and public are currently the exact same build so there should be no difference between them. The switch setting was removed in beta 2.
     
  11. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #11
    I'm on public beta and see the fps setting that you think are missing from it.

    My guess is you have it on a phone that doesn't support the extra fps options.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. richwoodrocket thread starter macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #12
    Oh ok. This makes sense. Thanks.
    I was really looking forward to changing the mute switch to orientation lock but oh well.
     
  13. richwoodrocket thread starter macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #13
    I could have sworn I saw a picture somewhere that the option of 60FPS/720p selected.
    In the iMovie app, I can record 720P/60FPS on my iphone 5c
     
  14. ynat11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
  15. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #15
    It can be installed if you install the iOS 9 Profile on a Dev device.
     
  16. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    It's not part of the beta it's the profile you install when getting the beta. Can be removed by just removing the profile.
     

Share This Page