Different systems, similar price..

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jeremybuff, Mar 7, 2009.

1. jeremybuff macrumors regular

First off, I want to say hi to everyone since this is my first post. After lurking around MacRumors for years, I have finally decided to hop on board. I just want to say thank you to everyone here, you truly are the nicest, funniest, and most informative bunch of people I have ever seen on a forum- any forum. Kudos to you for making it such an easy and fun environment

I had written a long post, but sadly the power went off and I lost what I wrote, so I apologize for this "version" to be choppier but I have a meeting to go to in a few minutes. Let me cut to the chase. I am a web designer who uses Photoshop very heavily, often has multiple instances of multiple browsers open with, you guessed it, multiple tabs. It's rare for me to ever have fewer than 5 programs open. Recently, I have been working on a MacBook Air- I'm sure you can imagine how THAT was. Anyway, I code a lot, always have an FTP program open, and use multiple programs from the Adobe Master Collection- none of them hardcore, besides Photoshop. I simply cannot decide which system to get:

iMac 24" 3.06 GHz, 4GB RAM, standard GT 130 graphics card, 1 TB HDD
    OR
    MacBook 15" 2.4GHz with (upgraded)4GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, and stock graphics card plus the 24" Apple Cinema Display

Does anyone have any suggestions or experience? I am not sure how well I would cope without a laptop- all I have is an older compaq. Is the iMac MUCH better than the MacBook above? Would I even see a big difference, being a web designer / developer? Especially the performance of the 15" MacBook? The last thing I want to do is spend $2,500-600 and regret it. I guess the 15" 2.66 MacBook PRO is an option as well, since it's $2,500.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions that you may have.

2. zhenya macrumors 603

zhenya