Difficult (?) Safari or web site problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Gregg2, Aug 30, 2016.

  1. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #1
    My wife and I each have an "account" on this web site. To get to a page to enter data, it takes three clicks after logging in. The other day (I do this weekly) her password did not work, so I changed it. Got in, and on the third click, instead of going to the proper page, it reverted to the previous one. Mine works fine.

    I tried both on Firefox, and got the same result.

    I cleared out all cookies, updated Flash and Java, turned off pop-up blocker. None of that helped.

    Their web guru says it's a browser problem. I say how can that be since one account works? They can't get the problem to replicate, so they say it's not an account problem.

    What could any other alternative be?
     
  2. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #2
    For clarity -- You're logging into both accounts on the same device from the same OS user account?
    Don't know that this will help but you didn't mention whether you emptied the browser caches. Enable the Develop menu in Safari to empty its caches.
     
  3. 960design macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #3
    Log in your wife using incognito mode. If that works with no problems then it clearing browser cache / history properly should do the trick, unless you have a specialized plugin specifically for that site storing credentials.
     
  4. Gregg2 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #4
    Yes.
    Did not empty cache. (Why caches? There's only one, right?)
    "Enable" the Develop menu? I'm not at a Mac. There isn't one normally?
    --- Post Merged, Aug 31, 2016 ---
    I've never heard of incognito mode. I'll look it up, but if anyone wants to explain it, and how to execute that, please do.
     
  5. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #5
    Show Develop menu in the Safari menu bar :
    Safari Preferences -> Advanced -> at the bottom of that pane tick box Show Develop Menu in menu bar.

    To clear caches, click Develop (you just placed there) in the Safari menu bar and then in the dropdown click Empty Caches.
    -----------------------
    Clear Fx Cache : Fx Preferences -> Advanced -> Network -> click Clear Now in the Cached Web Content field (May have to do more than once)
    -----------------------
    Safari Private Browsing
     
  6. Gregg2 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #6
    @rshrugged, thanks for the help. Did that, but still have the same problem. Empty Caches is not a very satisfying command. You can't see it doing anything, not even blink. After doing that, I closed Safari. But that didn't help. Same goes for Firefox. The web site's tech support person has forgotten about me. She insists it's not a problem with one of our two accounts because she can't replicate the problem. I insist that it's not a problem with my browser, so we're at an impasse. Not pleased, but apparently nothing I can do.
     
  7. rshrugged, Sep 3, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2016

    rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #7
    @Gregg2, you're welcome. Maybe you could try again with tech support. Sometimes the purpose of an initial contact can be lost because of extraneous reasons. If what would be lost from the account is acceptable by doing so, perhaps a suggestion to close the problematic account and to open a new one would be an agreeable solution. Regardless, I'd recontact tech and explain what you've done to date.

    I'm not positive from what you've written that the site with which you're having a problem is MR (EDIT: in your OP you say "this web site") , but if it is for example, get @arn involved. He seems responsive and seems to care about the user experience on the site. Other site owners do, as well.

    Good luck.
     
  8. Gregg2 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    Thanks. No, it's not MR. My wording was not very clear.

    I don't know if their tech support would be of much more help to resolve the problem. Closing the account might be the easiest way to go.
     
  9. supermariofan25 macrumors regular

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #9
    May or may not be what your looking for but Google Chrome offers separate user sessions within the same 'system account' (user account on a operating system) by creating separate 'chrome user accounts' using the little 'user' button on the top right of the chrome window. Each 'chrome account' has their own user history and website data. See here for more: https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/2364824?hl=en
     

Share This Page