Difficulty converting .m4v and .ts

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by MintyJ, Nov 9, 2014.

1. MintyJ, Nov 9, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2014

MintyJ macrumors newbie

Hi guys, I have been having a bit of difficulty lately and wondering if anyone could lend a hand. Just to offer a tiny bit of background, I have a YouTube channel where I edit TV trailers for fun, I use Final Cut Express so need the files in .dv. Thats what I have been doing for the past 5 years or so anyway.

So, recently, I have downloaded some .m4v videos and trying to convert them to .dv. I open them in MPEG Streamclip and start to export but get the message "Error: Can't prepare the movie"

My understanding was that this was because I didn't have the MPEG-2 Playback component. I bought it from Apple, stupidly, without reading the notes and found that my version of OS X is too late (I have just upgraded to Yosemite). I downloaded the Snow Leopard MPEG-2 Playback file that comes with the latest MPEG Streamclip beta from their website. However, this hasn't changed anything.

I have also now got Quicktime 7 Pro and I am managing to export the .m4v file to .dv. However the video seems to be a smaller size and I am definitely losing some quality. When I preview the video it is a lot lighter and there is definitely some grain there. It isn't too bad but I would rather it matched the quality of my other videos.

Can I get MPEG Streamclip to work on these files?

Issue 2:

I have also recently downloaded some videos from the same series that are .ts files. When I originally tried to load them in MPEG Streamclip I was getting an error message saying I needed the MPEG-2 Playback. Once I downloaded the Playback from the MPEG Streamclip website with the current beta I could start to load the .ts files into MPEG Streamclip. However, that is as far as I can get, the application freezes and I have to quit it.