Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jpoleto

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2009
Hi all,
This is my first post, so please excuse me if I come off a little (extremely) inexperienced.

I'm trying to teach myself C because I am an engineering student and have seen that it can be useful for simple analysis problems. Using a very out of date book (Published 1987), I have been going through some lessons. One of the lessons asks you to write a program that determines the number of letters between two input letters. I am using xcode to compile the program, and it has caused me no other issues so far. The issue that I am having is that the output number makes no sense.
The code that I have so far is as follows:

Code:
main()
{
int a, b, diff;
printf("Please type two characters below:\n");
scanf("%c %c", &a, &b);
if(a>b)
diff=a-b;
else
diff=b-a;
printf("The number of letters between each character is %d.", diff);
}

When I run the program, I am given a result that is magnitudes larger than the number of letters in the alphabet, so something must be wrong here. Any thoughts?
-John

kpua

macrumors 6502
Jul 25, 2006
I believe %c expects a pointer to the 8-bit char type. int is 32-bits, so scanf() is only writing to the first 8 bits of a and b, leaving uninitialized garbage in the last 24 bits.

The solution is to either make variables a and b chars, or initialize a and b to 0 before calling scanf. I recommend the former, since it's more type correct.

jpoleto

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2009
Aha! That makes looooads of sense. This might also be why all my attempts to generate an ASCII table result in just letters and quesiton marks :p .
Thanks,
-John

Guiyon

macrumors 6502a
Mar 19, 2008
Cambridge, MA
A couple of things: