dig works, ping doesn't

Discussion in 'macOS' started by chelsel, Aug 6, 2007.

  1. chelsel
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #1
    Not sure where to post this question... but I have a DNS name resolution problem with OS X and it's driving me nuts. I'm trying to PING a host on my local network using the DNS host name, NOT the IP address. A ping by IP address does work however. Also, I DO NOT WANT TO ADD THE NAME TO THE HOSTS FILE. This defeats the purpose of DHCP (the D means Dynamic)...

    The lookupd configuration looks correct, dig and nslookup operate properly but PING does not. The name of the local host I'm trying to ping is 'files'.

    Here is a relevant terminal session (if there's a better place to put this, PLEASE let me know):

    mymachine:~ cliff$ lookupd -configuration

    ConfigSource: file://etc/lookupd
    LookupOrder: Cache NI DS
    MaxIdleServers: 4
    MaxIdleThreads: 2
    MaxThreads: 64
    TimeToLive: 43200
    Timeout: 30
    ValidateCache: YES
    ValidationLatency: 15
    _config_name: Global Configuration

    LookupOrder: Cache FF DNS NI DS
    _config_name: Host Configuration

    LookupOrder: Cache FF NI DS
    _config_name: Service Configuration

    LookupOrder: Cache FF NI DS
    _config_name: Protocol Configuration

    LookupOrder: Cache FF NI DS
    _config_name: Rpc Configuration

    TimeToLive: 60
    ValidateCache: NO
    _config_name: Group Configuration

    TimeToLive: 300
    ValidateCache: NO
    _config_name: Initgroup Configuration

    LookupOrder: Cache FF DNS NI DS
    _config_name: Network Configuration

    mymachine:~ cliff$ ping files
    ping: cannot resolve files: Unknown host
    mymachine:~ cliff$ ping files.local
    ping: cannot resolve files.local: Unknown host
    mymachine:~ cliff$ ping files.localdomain
    ping: cannot resolve files.localdomain: Unknown host
    mymachine:~ cliff$
    mymachine:~ cliff$ dig files

    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> files
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 16769
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;files. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    files. 0 IN A 192.168.10.40

    ;; Query time: 2 msec
    ;; SERVER: 192.168.10.1#53(192.168.10.1)
    ;; WHEN: Mon Aug 6 11:31:23 2007
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 39

    mymachine:~ cliff$ nslookup
    > files
    Server: 192.168.10.1
    Address: 192.168.10.1#53

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name: files
    Address: 192.168.10.40
    > exit

    Any ideas? I've tried creating LookupOrder entries for every possible lookupd setting in /etc/lookupd but to no avail.

    This is extraordinarily frustrating and given the darwin roots of OSX this should be very very easy...

    Cliff.
     
  2. theBB
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #2
    I am not very proficient in networking, but I believe you need to define a server in your .rhosts file or somewhere like that for your computer to ask for the IP address of a "named" host.

    The IP address in your "nslookup" looks like your base station, but it may not be suitable for this function. Most base stations distribute IP addresses, but does not keep a "this name" is actually "this IP address" type of list. More like "I'll assign this IP address to this MAC address".
     
  3. chelsel
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #3
    thanks for the suggestion... but that's not the problem... anyone else??
     
  4. chelsel
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
  5. rxy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #5
    Same thing for me!

    I have exactly the same problem.

    I used to have a Windows XP machine set up as a DHCP server, and my Mac was able to ping local hostnames. Earlier in the week I changed to a router which is now set up as a DHCP server. All the Windows machines on the network are able to ping local host names quite happily but the Mac isn't resolving these names anymore. :mad:

    The Mac is able to connect to drives on other machines by using hostnames, but I can't Ping, or use Remote Desktop Connection to a PC, using a host name. IP addresses work fine.

    I am at a loss!

    Rob
     

Share This Page