Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BrittQ

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 23, 2007
I'm going to convert my Parents home videos into DVDs.
They have videos on VHS, Mini DV, and VHS-C... I think...

I will be using a Macbook Pro.

Is there a video capturing/converting device that has Firewire 800? Or is the way it's transfered not the bottleneck?

Can someone please give me a suggestion to what to buy? I am new to the whole video scene..:eek:

Thanks!

Flynnstone

macrumors 65816
Feb 25, 2003
Cold beer land
For miniDV, do you have a camcorder?

For analog, VHS or Hi8, I use my miniDV camcorder. A Sony TRV33. I use it in a passthrough mode.
Others recommend something like a Canopus AV300. I haven't used it.
Firewire 400 is fast enough.

highjumppudding

macrumors 6502
Mar 1, 2008
Get either of these...

Get a Pyro Box that connects through FireWire. I would recommend though getting a new Digital Video Camera that supports Analog to Digital Conversion. Almost any Mini DV Camcorder over $300 or $350 will have it. And the upside too about that option is that all the footage you shoot from this day on will be digital.

Enjoy.

jeremyschultz

macrumors member
Nov 2, 2006
Clive, Iowa USA
I am about ready to do the exact same thing: transfer video from VHS tapes to my computer. I am planning on purchasing a HD camcorder anyway, possibly the Canon VIXIA HV20, but it will need to hook up to my VCR with only composite video/audio cables. Can a camcorder connect with just audio/video cables? If not I have no problem buying a video converter, I just need to know which ones will work with Mac.

Thanks,

Jeremy

BrittQ

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 23, 2007
So my dad no longer has his mini dv camcorder.