Digital out not working with Logitech Z-5500

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tmccambridge, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. tmccambridge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #1
    Hiya

    I've been using these Logitech Z-5500 speakers with my aging PC for some time now. Decided today that i'd like to use them with my Mac Pro as i'm going to phase out the use of my PC.

    I've plugged them in using the digital-out on the Mac pro however the z-5500 digital display just shows 'Input: Optical No Digital Data'.

    Any ideas?!:confused:
     
  2. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #2
    Dumb question time...

    Did you change the output in System Preferences?
     
  3. Pili macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando/Miami, FL
    #3
    SoundStage is a nifty app for easily switching up the sound preferences. Much easier than navigating into system preferences every time if your dealing with the digital out.

    http://www.rogueamoeba.com/freebies/

    (2nd one down)
     
  4. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #4
    In Snow Leopard you can hold down the option key when clicking on the volume in the menu and switch inputs or outputs. Another nice little trick Apple hid in 10.6.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. TheStrudel macrumors 65816

    TheStrudel

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #5
    It'll display "No data" until you actively have sound playing through (such as music or whatever), so it may be displaying no data when properly connected but not sending anything. Make sure everything is set and try it.
     

Share This Page