DILEMMA : Huge price diff due work or Hi-res from apple

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rezyuz, Feb 27, 2011.

1. rezyuz macrumors newbie

First off, im a student whose a freelance webdesigner. Im fully convinced to buy this years MBP since what i work on atm is either my desktop ( but i need a laptop @ school/clients ) and windows on a 3rd party laptop drives me insane.

So i saved all my money to buy a proper MBP, the high end 15 inch one. I can buy this at my local store with alot of discount due to a family member working there ( 13% ) which makes it 1850 euro's for me instead of 2150 euro's.

MBP local store :
    750gb 5200 RPM HDD
    1440x900 glossy res
    release 11th of march

But i really have the feeling that 1440 is really low, im a new mac guy, im used to high end windows laptops and i always work on 1920x1080. My primair programs are Photoshop CS5, Illustrator CS5, notepad :p. Reading trough 1381293419419124912 posts on macforums about to buy or not to buy hi-res it made me doubt that for graphic design a hi res screen is pretty important ( reminder : i dont photo or video edit a lot , webdesign primair ). The big problem is, the discount.

If i would buy it at the apple store i would get a 6% discount ( student ) which would make 2150 euro 1960 euro + 100 euro for hi res = 2160 euro.

MBP apple :
    500 gb 7200 rpm
    1690x1050 hi-res glossy
    ships today

So basicly what im asking , what would you do in my situation?
    - Webdesigner
    - Limited money

Pay 300 euro extra for a hi-res screen or stop whining and accept 1440x900 is fine!?

2. orangepeel macrumors member

The 17" MBP might suit you, have you considered it?

The screen resolution is 1920x1200, which is essentially what you are used to working with.

3. dagamer34 macrumors 65816

dagamer34

Web designing & photo work = high res screen. Time = money, and eventually you'll get annoyed with 1440x900, especially since you're coming from 1920x1080.