Dim Screens like on a laptop?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by whyrichard, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
    Hello,


    I have my Mac Pro finally setup quite nicely now...

    ... i was wondering if there were a utility of some sort that can dim my 3 external monitors for low light situations... in a similar way that osx does for a macbook....

    such a thing? built into osx? or am i missing something?

    r.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    The monitors would have to have a built-in ambient light sensor to know how bright the room is.
     
  3. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #3
    i understand that macbooks use an ambient light sensor to AUTOMATICALLY adjust the brightness of the screens....

    ...but i would be happy for a MANUAL software solution. Going into the submenu's of the screens themselves is very laborious, especially for 3...

    r.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    I don't think OS X can control the brightness of external monitors.

    On a laptop, you are pressing the hardware button to change brightness, which is adjusting it the same as through a monitor menu.
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    My Pantone Huey changes the brightness of my monitors and color adjusts automatically for changing light conditions. Of course it's not perfect nor is it instant; for example right now it's set to check every 10 minutes.
     
  6. DualShock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #6
    I think this will only work with Apple branded monitors.

    The brightness keys on my Mac Pro's keyboard can adjust the brightness of my 23" aluminum Cinema Display (non-LED version). The brightness functionality works when the display's USB plug is connected to the computer.

    I've heard from others that this doesn't work with 3rd party monitors.
     
  7. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Correcto. Apple only. That's what F1 and F2 on the keyboard are for.
     
  8. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #8
    your monitor has the option to adjust the brightness in the menu .
     
  9. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I guess he's well aware of that...

    :rolleyes:
     
  10. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002

Share This Page