Dimm in pairs

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by lhoffstadt, Sep 21, 2015.

  1. lhoffstadt macrumors member

    lhoffstadt

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Chile
    #1
    Hi all I have a Mac mini mid 2010 2.4 with 4gb 2gb x 2.
    I want to add 8gb to one slot for the moment.
    Can this be done? Have 10gb or Dimms needs to be same size on each slot so it can work?

    Thanks for any advice on this.
     
  2. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #2
    10 GB will work but you lose Dual Channel of the ram ...
     
  3. lhoffstadt thread starter macrumors member

    lhoffstadt

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Chile
    #3
    I see, thanks for your answer, I will first then buy 8gb and next month the other 8gb, but good to know it will work. Thank you
     
  4. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    I have 10gb installed in my late-2012 Mini (replaced top-most 2gb DIMM with 8gb).

    It runs fine, and any slowdowns seem un-noticeable to me.

    No need to add more at this time, perhaps ever.
     
  5. lhoffstadt thread starter macrumors member

    lhoffstadt

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Chile
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    I have two identical minis.
    Bought a pair of 8GB sticks, and replaced just one 2GB stick with 8GB in each mini. I tried putting 2 x 8GB in one just as a test. There's no noticeable difference between a (mismatched) 10 GB, or the matched pair - at least with how I work. I suspect that you could measure that change, but not a real-life concern for me. Splitting the pair was a better use of my money.
     
  7. lhoffstadt thread starter macrumors member

    lhoffstadt

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Chile
    #8
    Good to know, thanks for that, for budget issues for the moment I'm only planning on buying for the moment 8gb and maybe later the other 8gb, thanks all.
     
  8. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #9
    The speed loss due to single vs dual channel memory is pretty negligible. Unless the process is very heavily dependent on memory bandwidth, you'll only lose a few percentage points in processing power which will be virtually unnoticeable.
     

Share This Page