Dimming Website

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by scamit, May 29, 2007.

  1. scamit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I have seen many websites where when you click on a link, or mostly, a photo, the website/photo will open up in sort of like a new window within the webpage and the background will become dim. How does one go about doing that? Does it require flash? I think i have seen it on webpages without flash, or maybe I have been mistaken.

    Thanks A lot!
     
  2. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #2
    I would just overlay a new layer onto the website, with some opacity. This would probably give the effect you're looking for.
     
  3. scamit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #3
    Im sorry, but I a newbie at this. How would I do that? Is there a tutorial I can follow?

    Thanks

     
  4. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #4
    I know what you're talking about. It's a program, I can't remember its name though at the moment. Someone will be along shortly to name it I'm sure.
     
  5. unbalanced macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    #5
  6. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
  7. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
  8. scamit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #8
    Ibox was exactly what I was looking for. God it was so easy to use even for a newbie. Everyone is so quick to respond, I really appreciate the help.

    I got my first Mac (iMac 20 inch) last November, and ever since then, whenever I have needed help, I have found the Mac community to be much more willing to help out, be it online on a message board or a few folks at work who have a Mac as well. They just seem happier to help out, Mac users definitely seem happier! Thanks a lot everyone.
     
  9. scamit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #9
    Alright guys, ran into some problem. So i setup the iBox and it works great to load an simple html webpage in overlay, it dims the background and all. The only problem is, the html page I am loading has an embedded flash gallery, I am using Simpleviewer. When I click on the link, the page comes up, but its the default page saying you dont have flash installed, and you need to download flash player. When I open that particular page independently, it runs the simpleviewer flash webpage without a hitch. I first thought it might be because of the width and height of the overlay, but i corrected that and same problem. Any ideas??!

    Thanks
     
  10. Halcyon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #10
    Scamit...my advice is to stick with Lightbox. I've been using it for quite a while and is simple and efficient.

    AFAIR, iBox works with Flash...correct me if I'm wrong :)

    HTH

    Edit - Stand Corrected NO Flash.
     

Share This Page