Direct-X 10?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MBX, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. MBX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #1
    hi,

    is direct-x 9 or 10 already integrated in Vista (in my case x64) or do you need to download that externally?
     
  2. myiope macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #2
    Windows Vista already comes with both DirectX 10 and a special version of DirectX 9 called 9Ex, which is basically the same as the regular one except it supports some new features of Vista. Vista SP1 includes DX 10.1 as well.
     
  3. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #3
    I see, thanks for info. Is it automatically activated or does it require a manual switch-on? Just curious because i did a test with a 3d tool and it said i need to activate direct-x 9 or 10.
     
  4. myiope macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #4
    It shouldn't need any activation. What 3d tool are you trying to use?
     
  5. exabytes18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Suburb of Chicago
    #5
    As myiope implied, it depends on the application. Dx10 is a new technology so not many applications make use of it. Dx10 is usually not the default render engine and isn't even an option without the capable graphics solution.
     

Share This Page