DirecTV Now app questions.

Discussion in 'Apple TV Apps' started by RobNYC, May 24, 2018.

  1. RobNYC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #1
    So since they updated the app on AppleTV with the DVR function, one thing I'm noticed is that when just watching a channel the screen goes black. You have to hit the menu button and then re-select the channel to get it to re-load and then the feed starts up again. Has this been happening to anyone else?
     
  2. mg6035 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    #2
    Yes happens to me all the time. But only on ATV 4K. I also have just the ATV 4 and it doesn’t do it on that one.
     
  3. RobNYC thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #3
    I don't have the 4K Apple TV so it doesn't seem to be limited to that version.
     
  4. digitalexplr macrumors 6502a

    digitalexplr

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Location:
    Central Missouri
    #4
    Yep! Happens periodically on 4 and 4k.
     
  5. Coffee50 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #5
    This happens to me occasionally on the 4K version.

    When using the DVR, what's everyone's experience with resuming content? I've noticed most of the time, when returning to a recorded show that I've previously watched, it doesn't picked up where it left off. Instead, it starts the recording from the beginning.

    Has anyone else noticed this or is there a solution?
     
  6. OriginalAppleGuy macrumors 6502a

    OriginalAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia
    #6
    This happens to me on my Verizon FIOS box. I have a 4K and use DTV NOW sometimes and haven't noticed it yet.
     
  7. virtualking macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    #7
    I am facing this problem frequelntly on 4 and 4k, I think someone have to find the solutionf or it quickly
     
  8. RobNYC thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #8
    I haven't noticed that with DVR but I have had that issue with On Demand stuff. It will start me over from the beginning sometimes. Also, I had a show of which only 9 of a 30 minute show recorded the other day. I had to go onto the FXX app to watch the whole thing. Has anyone had problems of shows not being fully recorded?
     
  9. Coffee50, Jun 5, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2018

    Coffee50 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    #9
    Yes!! I've had this happen a few times. Most recently, the other day. It recorded 12 minutes of one show & 7 minutes of another.

    This doesn't happen all the time (it's random) but enough that it becomes a slight annoyance. I'm hoping this issue is resolved....

    (I also have YTTV & I've begun recording the same show on both services just to have a backup, I prefer recording on DTVN because it allows you to record a single episode. YTTV adds the series & will record all upcoming episodes, but it at least records the entire allotted time .....)
     
  10. RobNYC thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #10
    I also had the issue of it cutting out the last two minutes of a show. I think that was something people were complaining about in the beta testing. I realize DVR is still in beta so I guess these are just more bugs.
     
  11. Mac 128 macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #11
    This is happening to me too. 5-10 min. After tuning in to a show, the screen just goes black and stays that way until I exit and re-select.
     

Share This Page