Directv to iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iTiki, Nov 25, 2008.

  1. iTiki macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Location:
    Maui, Hawaii
    #1
    I would like to connect my Directv HD Reciever to my 24 inch iMac and watch HDTV. Is there such a thing as a HDMI cable to usb, or is there a better solution?

    Thanks, Mike
     
  2. techie4life macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia
    #2
    I haven't heard of anyone connecting a DirecTV receiver straight to their Mac, but I know of the Elgato products, and I've heard they are pretty decent. Other than that, I can't help you.
     
  3. iTiki thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Location:
    Maui, Hawaii
    #3
    Thanks. I will check them out and see if they offer anything that might work. I think the HDCP might be a problem..........

    Mike
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    I was unaware that cable or satellite programming carried HDCP.

    If this is the case, I will be VERY displeased.
     
  5. Joe The Dragon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #5
    The imac do not have video in.

    If you had the HD DVR and had it hooked to your network then you could use DIRECTV2PC(TM) with windows.
     
  6. Joe The Dragon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #6
    The PPV channels or a few others have it.
     
  7. iTiki thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Location:
    Maui, Hawaii
    #7
    Shucks. Looks like I'm SOL. Thought there would be a way to "slip it in" through USB somehow........:(

    Thanks, Mike
     
  8. xcapepr macrumors newbie

    xcapepr

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    San Juan, Puerto Rico
    #8
    As mentoned earlier, you can do it with elgato products. The elgato hybrid can de found on ebay under $100. If you buy used make sure they include the tuner software. The only bad thing is that the device only supports S-Video in, so not high def like it appears you want.

    My cable provider uses HDCP on the HDMI. When I tried to connect my setup box to my older reciver with HDMI switching, I got a message that this device is not HDCP compliant.
     
  9. techie4life macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia
    #9
  10. iTiki thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Location:
    Maui, Hawaii
    #10
    Thanks for the replies, but HD is a MUST for me. I'll just pick up a flat panel on Black Friday for HD viewing. Thought it might be nice to have an "all in one solution". Apple's a poozer for not including a HDMI input on the iMac. Oh well, not the end of the world. At least the iMac does everything else I need perfectly.
     

Share This Page