directx 9.0c on mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by casbas123, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. casbas123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #1
    hello i have the program wine on my macbook and then i try to run mass effect 1 it works but it ask my to download directx 9.0c do you know maybe how???:)
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    How did you get Wine? Prebuilt binaries such as WineBottler come with a means of accessing Winetricks for these very tasks.
     
  3. casbas123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #3
    i just google it i also have fmware fusion but then my macbook is sooooooooo slow that i cant run anything i dont have a macbook pro or air just a macbook new 2011 september but does vmware fusion has directx9.0c becouse i want to play that game really or do you have a other way i run in vmware fusion windows xp

    ----------

    i am now downloading crossovergames maybe that works:D
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    Right. I understand now... when you open Wine on your Mac, could you please attach a screenshot of the About dialog for it? You can capture it easily with the following combination: :apple: + Shift + 4, then press Space, then click the window to capture.

    As far as VMware Fusion goes, I have not tried gaming with it (and my Windows XP disc won't let me activate it anymore) so I can't be of much help there.
     
  5. casbas123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #5
    can you plz do it in steps i am a little new to mac :D
     
  6. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
  7. casbas123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
  8. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #8
    Bootcamp is much faster than any emulation. It effectively turns your Mac into a PC and Windows can run full out.
     
  9. casbas123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #9
    but is bootcamp free or becouse i dont have a windows installation disc and if it is free can you do in steps how to get it and can you easyily switch back to mac
     
  10. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #10
    You need a windows installation disc to use Boot Camp. Yes, it is free. It comes with Mac OS X, so there's nothing to download to get the setup started. Switching OSes is easy - the Boot Camp Windows utilities installs a Boot Camp control panel, where you can return to Mac OS X easily.
     
  11. casbas123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #11
    and where can i find that bootcamp on my mac?
     
  12. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #12
    It's in your Utilities folder.
     
  13. casbas123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #13
    i am new to mac but i cant see it can you do it in stept plz?

    :eek:
     
  14. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #14
    Navigate to Applications, then Utilities. What you want is called Boot Camp Assistant.
     
  15. casbas123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #15
    oke i have that now what now do i have to click on it?
     
  16. And1ss macrumors 6502a

    And1ss

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #16
    Running bootcamp is meaningless in your case because you don't have windows installation disk.

    On the same note, if you want to play games, the best route is bootcamp to install a windows OS on your mac.
     
  17. casbas123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #17
    but is there a way to get it for free or can you download it illegaly?:confused:
     
  18. casbas123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #18
    and when i install it wil i lose everything on my mac?
     
  19. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #19
    That type of question and discussions are not allowed.
     
  20. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #20
    No. The way Boot Camp works is by carving out a partition on your internal drive for Windows. You get to choose how large it is.
     
  21. And1ss macrumors 6502a

    And1ss

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #21
    save yourself the troubles and buy yourself a legit copy of Windows if gaming is so important to you.
     
  22. casbas123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #22
    sorry for maybe bad english but how much does windows xp cost and can you still buy that in stores
     
  23. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #23
    Depends on what country you're in. You might have to *gasp* do your own research!
     
  24. Skyrim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #24
    For newer Mac, Windows 7 is preferred. If you only play mass effect 1, Windows XP can do the job. But after getting the multi boot systems with the boot camp, you might want to play more games.
     

Share This Page