Disable 3G

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Sundar83, Apr 10, 2014.

  1. Sundar83 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #1
    Hi any one guide me how to disable 3G in iPhone 5s ios7.1 model A1530 settings-->cellular-->LTE option only there tried full restore no luck contacted operator support they said apple have automatic option of switching band no option to choose manually here I attached screen shot
    [​IMG]
     
  2. 53kyle macrumors 65816

    53kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Sebastopol, CA
    #2
    I don't get it, are you trying to make it so you don't use any data, or switch to edge, or what? If you want to use no data, just switch off the cellular data (the top option in cellular settings). As for switching to edge, I think there may be a jailbreak tweak, but iOS 7.1 can't be jailbroken, so I don't think you can do that.
     
  3. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #3
    As I recall, it's generally a carrier type of setting so if the carrier you are using allows for it you'll see the setting there, but if not, then it won't be.
     
  4. Sundar83 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #4
    If I change the sim will it work same model same location my friend has that 3G option
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    This is correct. The toggles that show are defined by your carrier
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Its carrier specific and most now only let you disable LTE which by the way is even more power hungry then 3G
     
  7. Sundar83 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #7
    any way to get back 2g with the help of operator support?
     
  8. Sundar83 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #9
    If I insert other carrier sim 3G option back but for Airtel sim it will not
     
  9. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #10
    Thus the carrier dependent part of it.
     
  10. Sundar83 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #11
    But carrier supporter from Airtel saying not possible to get back 3G
     

Share This Page