Disable 3G

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by lindsaykaye04, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. lindsaykaye04 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #1
    How do I disable 3G? I thought I remembered seeing it on the settings page, but my new 3G does not have that option. Maybe I'm missing it somewhere. Where can I find that option?
     
  2. JosephEsquivel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
  3. adamdodson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #3
    Go into Settings>General>Network. Then toggle off 3G at the top.
     
  4. Ryhian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
  5. mynameismatt89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    #5
    I wanted to know this as well. But not only disable 3G, but disable edge as well. I wanted to disable it all because I didn't get a data plan and I did not want to accidentally launch youtube, safari, etc while not connected to WiFi and be charged 5cents/kb. Anyone know how to disable all data transfer excluding WiFi? I thought i remember reading that you can call Fido/Rogers and have this disabled, but have yet to confirm this.
     
  6. Sweetbike40 macrumors 65816

    Sweetbike40

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    #6
    HUH? YOu didn't get a data plan? Where are you from? I had no choice and a contract for 2 years of data.
     
  7. mynameismatt89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    #7
    Canada.

    I don't think all countries had the mandatory data plan did they?

    I'm on a 3 year plan now with no data. I think you'll find many others (not only Canadians) didn't get data (even though the 6GB of data for 30 dollars was introduced - again a Canadian thing).
     
  8. mynameismatt89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    #8
    Just to let everyone know3g and edge can be disabled! I just got off the phone with fido customer service and they have disabled it so that I can only access the Internet through wifi. They said it may take a few hours to process so I will test it tonight and keep you posted. She had to put me on hold toconfirm this with someone so if you call and they say this is not pssible than tell them toconfirm this with someone (their supervisor?).

    I now won't be charged accidentally for any data I may have accidentally used while not connected to wifi.
     
  9. extraextra macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I think if you put it in Airplane Mode it will turn off all data but allow you to access wifi?
     
  10. idesign245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #10
    It also won't allow any calls.
     
  11. mynameismatt89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    #11
    The Disabling worked. When I tested it by turning WiFi off I tried to launch a webpage with the 'E' in the top left corner where it usually indicates I am connected to a wireless network. I'm assuming this is EDGE.

    One thing though - when I checked my usage it said 7 KB sent. What does this mean? Is my non WiFi not truly disabled then? Or is this referring to something else which I won't be billed for?
     
  12. idesign245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #12
    Maybe it racked up the 7KB by using mail/weather/maps/gps?
     
  13. mynameismatt89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    #13
    okay but it says it was cellular network data. Does this mean the 7kb was sent while I was not connected to wifi and was done so on either 3g or edge?
     
  14. iPhelim macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #14
    Yes. ;)
     
  15. ugp macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #15
    Disabling 3G will help with battery life. I am not sure if it matters if your not in a 3G area or not. I disabled mine just to see. I won't be 3G until the end of August.
     
  16. Nadim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #16
    You can also use the web-based app @ www.disable3g.com. (I know it's a paid app ...)
     

Share This Page