Disable airplay?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Fernandez21, Oct 6, 2016.

  1. Fernandez21 macrumors 601

    Fernandez21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #1
    So my 2 year old has been using my gen 1 iPad mini for a couple of months and loves it, but recently she has discovered the airplay button and is constantly streaming everything to the tv, so much so that my wife ended up unplugging our Apple TV.

    Is there anyway to disable air play on her iPad? I've looked through the restrictions menu and didn't see that option, nor have I found any settings for airplay in the settings menu.

    Thanks.
     
  2. beernut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    #2
    You can use guided access (in accessibility settings) to restrict what's actually clickable
     
  3. Fernandez21 thread starter macrumors 601

    Fernandez21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #3
    Thanks, just tried but the airplay button still shows up when playing a video.
     
  4. beernut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    #4
    You can set multiple disabled zones in guided access, including the clickable areas in full screened video view.

    Alternatively, you can can try setting up a separate wifi connection (maybe one under 2.4 and one under 5ghz) and have the iPad and Apple TV on the separate connections)
     
  5. hungx macrumors 6502

    hungx

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #5
    Under the Apple TV settings, I believe you can set a password for AirPlay. Your devices will remember the password, but this shouldn't be an issue if you don't use your daughter's iPad to AirPlay to the TV.
     
  6. Wackery macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    #6
    All suggestions here are great, but I like this one
     
  7. Rok73 macrumors 65816

    Rok73

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #7
    I'd suggest not to let a 2 yo handle an iPad on their own.
     
  8. doboy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #8
    This will not work unless you use different routers, even then it may still not work.
     
  9. Rok73 macrumors 65816

    Rok73

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #9
    If you mean setting up separate networks with one being on the 2.4 GHz band and the other on 5 GHZ isn't possible then you're wrong. I can assign two different network names for each of the bands in my router settings. I can then tell connected devices to which network they should connect.

    It is not necessary, though but might be a possible solution for the OP IF his router supports it.
     
  10. doboy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #10
    Yeah, I wasn't 100% sure that setting up separate routers would work, but I know using different frequencies won't work when using a same router for both.
     
  11. Rok73 macrumors 65816

    Rok73

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #11
    But what I said is that it DOES work. One router - two frequencies - different network names for each.
     
  12. doboy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #12
    Ok. My Airport doesn't work that way, but then again I don't need it to :)
     
  13. Jessemtz25 macrumors regular

    Jessemtz25

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado
    #13
    They are actually very good with them if taught how to properly handle them. My 2 year old uses my 9.7 pro daily and has yet to damage it in any way.
     

Share This Page