disable cellular data and 3g on jb iphone 1G

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mariposas, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. mariposas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #1
    I'm very new at this, so forgive me for stupid or repeated questions.

    I have a 1G iphone that was jb without sim. I disabled data roaming but cant turn off all cellular data and 3g because this options do not exist on the os that is installed. The problem is that I only use the phone on wifi, but sometimes that goes off and it starts costing me a lot of money! I called the phone company but they can't disable internet usage manually. So I have to do it on my phone.

    Is there either a way to load another os without loosing data (even thought the phone is jb) ? Or is there another hack or something how I can turn off cellular data and 3g.
    Thank you for your help!!
     
  2. declandio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    You could ask them for a tariff that does not include any data... phone calls & sms only. Surely they can do that.
     
  3. mariposas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #3
    I know that I could do that... but atm I have a prepaid contract and I don't want to change it. I only wanna use in with wifi but its annoying when it switches without me noticing especially cos it costs alot.
     
  4. NathanA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #4
    It might help if you told us which OS version.

    There is an SBSettings toggle for Data that should do what you want. This assumes that you aren't running something completely ancient, OS-wise (like 2.x; I don't even know if the current version of SBSettings runs on 2.x anymore).

    SBSettings can be acquired through Cydia.

    -- Nathan
     
  5. mariposas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #5
    os is 3.1.2.

    i really have no clue how to disable the data stuff :(
     
  6. NathanA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #6
    SBSettings should work fine with that.

    Did you read what I wrote? Install SBSettings from Cydia, and then use its Data toggle to turn off data.

    This website (http://iphone-developers.com/app/sbsettings1) has a simple description of SBSettings for you. There is a screenshot of it running on there, too. See the "E" button? You press the "E" button so that it turns from green to red. Then data is off. Simple. :)

    -- Nathan
     
  7. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    fortunately the iPhone 1G comes with 3G turned off already.... :D
     
  8. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #8
    It's the EDGE data that's eating him alive, obviously no 3G exists on this device. Can't you just wipe out the apn data?
     
  9. mariposas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #9
    THANKS for your help and patience NathanA, it worked :)
     
  10. hungry ghost macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #10
    Hi, I just Googled and found this thread as it is exactly what I was looking for.

    I've got a jailbroken original iPhone (with the metal back) running 3.1.3. It has Cydia and SBSettings, and I followed the advice here to turn off data roaming.

    What I'm not too sure though, is that the blue dot on the top left of the toolbar is most of the time an empty circle, but when I go to send an SMS it turns blue - which it used to do when I was data roaming in the absence of wi-fi.

    Can anyone tell me what this means? Can I be sure that when the 'E' data button in SBSettings is red, that no data roaming is possible. In which case I can ignore the dot, blue or otherwise?

    Thanks in advance from an iPhone newbie.....
     
  11. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #11
    when using the toggle in SBSettings, it turns back on if you restart your phone
     
  12. hungry ghost macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #12
    Ah, didn't spot that. It would be nice to have a more permanent way of disabling it, but that is useful info.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page