Disable data

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Tex-Twil, Jul 11, 2009.

  1. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    Hi,
    I have a 3GS and I wonder how to disable any data communication.

    - When I simply switch off the 3G, Edge is still on
    - I installed SBSettings but the "Toggles" don't work (it say Edge off but Edge is on)

    There is this APN but it doesn't allow to simply switch on/off data.

    Thanks,
    Tex
     
  2. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #2
    I believe the easy way is to go to Settings, General, Network, Cellular Data Network and just invent a fake APN for Cellular Data. For example MoiUnMouton.

    Then when you try and browse it will fail.
     
  3. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    I don't have the "Cellular" option there
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #4
    OK, you've got me stumped. So where is the APN that you referred to in your first post?
     
  5. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #5
    I don't think he's using that APN, since you can't turn on/turn off data with it.
     
  6. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #6
    So, I'm curious, still being in the dark ages of the 2G iPhone. Is this Apple's side of the networks' "you must have a data plan with the iPhone" policy.

    i.e. there's no way to turn data off any more? :confused:

    I may just stick with my 2G forever!!!!!!
     
  7. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    Yeah I removed it since I can't toggle on/off
     
  8. patrickvanzandt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #8

    When you are on an "official" iPhone carrier, the option to change APN does not display in Settings.

    My suggestion is to create an iPhone profile (use the iPhone configuration utility from Apple) that sets APN=none. E-mail the profile to yourself.

    Now, when you want to disable cellular data, open the e-mail and click the profile (attached to the e-mail you sent yourself) and click Install. To enable data again, just do to Settings > General > Profile > Remove.

    All of this does not require jailbreaking/unlocking/any type of hacking.

    iPhone configuration utility can be downloaded here:
    http://www.apple.com/support/iphone/enterprise/

    Or....on second thought, let me save you the trouble. I'll give you my profile. Just open this link in Safari on your iPhone:
    http://patrickvanzandt.com/DisableCellularData.mobileconfig
     
  9. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #9
    In the words of the Vancome Lady: "Ya know what, Uh-uh!"
    I just bought another phone (for work) and asked if I could get rid of data. AT&T was like, "Mmmkay". And that was that. :apple::apple:
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    guy....dude....Vancome.....Hmmm, I don't see the connection. :confused::)
     
  11. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #11
    lol. She was a character on the now-defunct show Mad TV. That was her catchphrase. :p
     
  12. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #12
    So is Mmmkay the same as ok, or the opposite? :confused: Did you get rid of the data contract or not? :confused: I do not speak American, just English
     
  13. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #13
    ok but this is the same solution that I mentioned in my 1st post.
     
  14. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #14
    Oh yes, of course. Ding, ding!!
     
  15. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #15
    Sorry. I did. No problems.
     
  16. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #16
    Actually this works ;)
     

Share This Page