Disable iPhone passcode remotely?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Uplift, Dec 13, 2013.

  1. Uplift macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Is there any way to remove the iPhone passcode without actually doing it on the phone?

    A friend has dropped her phone, smashed the screen and completely disabled the touch screen. When we plug it into iTunes it's saying it needs a passcode to access it.. obviously we can't type in the passcode since the touch screen has broken.

    Is there any other way of getting access to the device, like disabling it from iCloud or any other method? a quick google doesn't help much so i'm guessing no? but thought i'd ask anyway.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I'd say no as that is probably a security vulnerability.
     
  3. Lucille Carter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    #3
    Hope she had it set to back-up on a regular basis. I also see no way around this to access her phone.
     
  4. 960design macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #4
    Take it to a repair shop. They will replace the glass in about an hour, should be less than $70US. ProblemS solved, glass fixed, access to passcode.

    Or you can remotely wipe your iphone via iCloud.
     
  5. predwas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Location:
    Kansas
    #5
    If you had access to another working phone of the same model you could try temporarily replacing the screen on the broken one with the good one in order to get into the broken one and disable the passcode and back it up or whatever it is you're wanting to do.
     
  6. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    Agreed. I would be very surprised if you were able to disable the passcode remotely.

    Trying to get it repaired seems like the best choice.
     
  7. c0LdFire macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #7
    You're only able to do this with an MDM profile. Unless it's a corporate phone with an MDM profile, the answer is no.

    Just repair the glass.
     

Share This Page