Disable networking in VMware Fusion 2

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by aleni, Oct 16, 2008.

  1. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #1
    Using Macbook air with only 2gb of ram makes me picky about what to run, i have vmware installed but never use the networking feature on it, is there any way to disable those running process automatically after restart?

    i have looked all settings, networking is sure disabled, but still the vmware processes (as shown on the picture attachment) shown up.

    any help will be appreciated, thanks!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    There's picky and then there's picky. It's only using a little over 1MB of real memory, does it really matter?
     
  3. saMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #3
    i would agree. the Virtual Memory column can be a bit intimidating though, but it's not for real, it's virtual :rolleyes:
     
  4. aleni thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #4
    yes it matters, 1mb + 1mb + another one .... means alot. lol.
     
  5. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #5
    I would agree too, when ALL the processes are taking just a bit over 1mb when compared to 1,000mb it's not a big deal, it'll take more effort and memory just to click each one and 'force quit' it's not worth it.

    Judging from the scrollbar I think the OP has other processes to worry about killing that the vmnet ones and those are probably useing 10-100 times more mb.
     
  6. aleni thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #6
    in Windows environment i was a hardcore tweaker. but in mac osx i don't really understand any of those processes that are not important.

    if you can direct me into a guide for processes in mac os x that can be turned off safely i will be extremely grateful.
     

Share This Page