iPhone disable the app switcher?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by fisherking, May 19, 2013.

  1. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #1
    i NEVER use it. can i disable it (with a tweak perhaps?)? thanx...
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    On my ipod touch 2nd gen (iOS 4.1), a while back, I enabled multitasking via this method: http://www.mydigitallife.info/enable-multitasking-on-iphone-3g-and-ipod-touch-2g-on-firmware-os-4-0/

    You can try using this method to see if it disables multitasking. make a backup of the plist though just in case. Be advised that editing .plist files can be scary, it may mess up the device and force a restore so I would NOT recommend doing this method unless it's known for sure to work

    I'm not sure if there's a tweak to disable multitasking bar though, never thought about disabling it

    edit: looks like it doesn't work http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=15163612#post15163612. It looks like Springtomize 2 may have the feature to disable multitasking
     
  3. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #3
    Maybe springtomize can disable it?? I'm not sure. Been a while since I've used springtomize.
     
  4. fisherking thread starter macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #4
    been googling this, and...think i'm gonna just leave it. simple enough to NOT double-click the home button (and ultimately, the app switcher is there IF i ever want it).

    thank u.
     
  5. chambone macrumors 6502a

    chambone

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    The app switcher can be disabled with activator (or at least prevent it from showing). Just set the home button to 'do nothing' when double-clicked on the home screen or in apps. Or assign any other action to it.
     
  6. fisherking thread starter macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    LOL now that i made peace with NOT turning it off...i read this. anyway, works, so thank u!
     
  7. jamjoy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #7
    yeah,i think so,when double-clicked on the home screen or in apps. Or assign any other action to it. [​IMG]
     
  8. fisherking thread starter macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #8
    disabled the app switcher from the home page, but it's active when i'm in an app...makes sense (to me...). activator, great idea of course!
     

Share This Page