Disabling Siri while keeping dictation

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by iRock1, Mar 8, 2014.

  1. iRock1 macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #1
    Is it possible to use Voice Over instead of Siri, while keeping the dictation feature on the keyboard? I ask because as soon as I disabled Siri the mic button went away.
     
  2. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
  3. iRock1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #3

    Well I thought there could be a way of enabling dictation without going to the Siri menu.
     
  4. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
  5. iRock1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #5

    Meh. Thanks anyway.

    What I find absurd is the impossibility of using Dictation without Siri. Clearly they are not the same thing.
     
  6. Altis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #6
    Being able to keep Siri enabled while getting rid of the mic button would be useful, too, for some people.

    I'm guessing that it uses the same speech to text process.
     
  7. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #7
    Why would you want to disable Siri and bring back Voice Control? I know Siri can be little wacky sometimes, but the recognition is leaps and bounds better then Voice Control. Plus, dictation backends to the Siri server (TMK) and whenever you use dictation and correct its mistakes, Siri learns and vice-versa.
     
  8. iRock1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #8
    Disabling Siri while keeping dictation


    Because for some odd reason Siri doesn't work over 3G. That's why.
     
  9. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #9
    That's strange, it should work fine on 3G as plenty of people use it that way on their 4Ss.
     
  10. iRock1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRock1

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #10

    Yes, it should, but it doesn't. After several tests and some research, the only conclusion is that the problem is on the telecom's side.

    But it is what is, right.
     
  11. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #11
    That honestly makes no sense why Voice Control would work over your providers network but not Siri. Who's your provider and what country are you in if you don't mind me asking?
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    Voice Control doesn't use the internet to analyze a user's voice. Everything is done solely on the device. That's why 4G iPod Touch users can use it when not connected to WiFi.
     
  13. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #13
    Huh. I didn't know that. You learn something new everyday.
     
  14. iBlazed, Mar 9, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2014

    iBlazed macrumors 68000

    iBlazed

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    New Jersey, United States
    #14
    Nevermind.
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    Voice Control ≠ Dictation
     
  16. iBlazed macrumors 68000

    iBlazed

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Location:
    New Jersey, United States
    #16
    Ohh my bad. I thought he was referring to dictation since that's what the thread was originally about.
     
  17. Planins macrumors member

    Planins

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    #17
    And this is exactly why dictation wouldn't be able to work without internet too - it connects every time when you dictate to it, sends your voice to the server and sends back the text. That's why it doesn't work like Voice Control so it's not available when it is turned on.
     

Share This Page