Disappointed with Samsung 850 EVO write speeds using Inateck USB 3 Enclosure

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by bootz, Mar 7, 2016.

  1. bootz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #1
    Using Blackmagic, the write speed to my Samsung 850 EVO is topping out at 150 MB/s. The read speed is great, hitting 500 MB/s at times. I'm using the Inateck FE2007 (USB 3 with 3-port hub). My hardware is a rMBP mid-2012 running OS X El Capitan.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    What is the speed when connected directly without a hub?
     
  3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    The Inateck FE2007 has a 3 port USB hub built-in to the enclosure - all one piece.
    The site says that it supports UASP, and should give you good speed with an SATA drive.

    That being said, you may want to try a different USB cable, or a different enclosure (might be the SSD itself, and you should check for firmware updates?)
     
  4. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    No problems using an FEU3NS-1E with a Samsung 840 1TB. That enclosure definitely does UASP and lets you have read and write speeds in the 400+ range.

    http://www.inateck.com/inateck-feu3ns-1e-usb-3-0-superspeed-hdd-external-enclosure/


    With an SSD you don't have a motor and exposed electronics to protect. You can use a simple cable that is USB 3 on one end and a SATA III controller on the other end that does UASP. That combo can save a little space in a briefcase or camera bag.

    http://www.startech.com/HDD/Adapters/USB-3-SATA-adapter-cable-with-UASP~USB3S2SAT3CB
     
  5. bootz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #5
    Thanks for the replies. This SSD was used in a Windows PC in the past and I did use the Magician software to enable Over Provisioning and RAPID Mode. I guess I should try and connect it to a Windows machine and revert back to the Magician default settings (no Over Provisioning and No RAPID mode).
     

Share This Page