Disaster so far...

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by anaudiopro, Sep 21, 2017.

  1. anaudiopro macrumors 65816

    anaudiopro

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    #1
    I’m a record producer and for kicks and giggles I got a wild hair to try out the GM candidate today. What a mistake that was! Apple’s very own Logic Pro X is a wreck. It doesn’t even recognize hundreds of plug-ins that are installed. I also noticed a lot of GUI anomalies system wide, like for instance populating icons in the applications folder was sluggish. Good thing I did a full backup of 10.12.6. It appears that my transitioning to High Sierra will be a long time coming, if ever at all.
     
  2. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #2
    am also a music producer (it's my living), and have been running LX with... small issues thru the betas, and no issues (yet) with the GM. you may need to reinstall the OS? not sure why you're having so many problems, but i'm having a great time with logic & high sierra...
     
  3. anaudiopro thread starter macrumors 65816

    anaudiopro

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    #3
    I have nearly 1300 plug-ins installed. LPX doesn’t see my UA plugin-ins AT ALL. Not to mention there’s a handful of other plug-ins that just plain will not scan. I have deleted the AU cache and tried to rescan twice. I have also totally reinstalled LPX just for good measure. No go here. I’m staying on 10.12.6 maybe indefinitely. Oh, and I’ve been an engineer and producer for over 20 years. Pretty sure I know what I’m doing. Totally doing a clean install of the OS would be ignorant for me at this point. It takes literally around a week to get all my soft synths and plug-ins all back installed. I’ll stay where I am. Thank God for CCC clones.
     
  4. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #4
    no need to get defensive, am sure you're a pro. and... so am i. and am having a stellar experience in 10.13. not sure what's happening for you, but possibly some plugin conflict. more important to be working than updating, so glad you're getting it back together (CCC is a great app).
     
  5. anaudiopro thread starter macrumors 65816

    anaudiopro

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    #5
    As my first post indicated, I am certain yes that it is plug-in related when it comes to LPX. This doesn't make it any less of High Sierra's fault. It also doesn't negate the GUI issues I spotted while using the OS for just a few minutes before quickly jumping ship and heading back to the shores of 10.12.6

    Good luck! I am certain you will also start seeing issues creep up on you. I don't know how "professional" or deep you get, but I use LPX, Pro Tools, Ableton Live, and Reason all on a regular basis. I know there would have been a ton more issues with DAWs and plug-ins. I didn't stick around to find out. Seeing as I own every UA plug-in made and use their Apollo 8 interface along with 2 satellites, I don't have time to be fumbling around.

    Cheers
    --- Post Merged, Sep 21, 2017 ---
    Just a side note... I feel Apple is sadly starting to lose its way. I say starting to, but this has been a long time coming. Especially in regards to fit and finish of their products and their UX and UE. They need to slow their roll and stop beta testing on the masses and get their act together.
     
  6. polbit macrumors 6502

    polbit

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #6
    So you installed a beta software on a production machine, specifically designed to be tested by people that have signed up to be beta testers so that the issues are kept to a minimum when it is actually released to general public.

    Now you are complaining that Apple is testing beta software on people that have signed up to do exactly that?

    o_O
     
  7. EugW macrumors 603

    EugW

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #7
    Has Logic Pro X even been updated for High Sierra yet? Just wondering.
     
  8. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #8
    hey, let's get competitive! who's more pro?? :confused:

    meanwhile, it's the plugin developers who will have to update their apps to work with the new OS (should they so desire). this is how it's always worked, UNLESS it's very-specifically an apple problem (& i went thru that once with apple). also, the issues have been creeping away over the beta period (also how that's supposed to work). i'm not having any GUI issues, so your problem is not universal.

    i live on LPX & FCPX, and all is well. and know that beta testing isn't mandatory. if you choose to run betas, you have to expect problems (google 'beta' for more information).
     
  9. anaudiopro, Sep 21, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2017

    anaudiopro thread starter macrumors 65816

    anaudiopro

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    #9
    Apparently you don't know what a GM is...:rolleyes:
    --- Post Merged, Sep 21, 2017 ---
    And apparently you don't know what a GM is either... Google 'golden master'. WOW. Batting a thousand in here. For all intents and purposes I am NOT "trying out a beta", this is the ugly GM slated to go public to the world come Monday. I have noticed that a large number of posters on MR are like a pack of rabid wolves. Just looking to pounce on people. So much anger that could be diverted elsewhere. I know I get it, people just want to be "right". Have a wonderful day.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 21, 2017 ---
    I highly doubt that LPX will receive any High Sierra specific update. They are under the same roof.
     
  10. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #10
    this isn't your quote? :D "They need to slow their roll and stop beta testing on the masses and get their act together."

    this is what i was referring to. dude, you're the angry one (read your first post). and again, the GM is working great here. remember, we don't all have the same experiences. it's ok to be upset about what you're going thru, but that does not mean it's universal, it is specific to you. peace!
     
  11. anaudiopro thread starter macrumors 65816

    anaudiopro

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    #11
    You're excellent at twisting things I will say. Are you sure you produce music? That quote was a separate thought to the quality of Apple's GM.
     
  12. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    GM Candidate. There will be a different build shipped on Monday.
    Perhaps once the software you're using has been updated to support 10.13, it'll work better.
     
  13. anaudiopro thread starter macrumors 65816

    anaudiopro

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    #13
  14. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #14
    what does twisting things you say have to do with music production?

    and do you understand how the beta program works? it's voluntary, they're not 'testing on the masses'. so am not sure why you want to argue. the GM is solid here, i've been working a lot and nothing intrusive is happening. it's the plugin and software developers you need to reach out to; they may need to update at their end, to work with the new OS... as it has been since forever.

    i'll leave this thread now; there's no point in staying if you're not willing to hear anything. but again, logic X is FINE for me on 10.13. i'm having a great time working in high sierra.
     
  15. nylon macrumors 65816

    nylon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #15
    I think it's still GM Candidate. Moreover it usually takes third party software makers (including Plugins) a few weeks to update their software for a new OS after release. I'm sure all your plugin issues will be resolved.
     
  16. thebitguru macrumors member

    thebitguru

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    #16
    @StudioSanctum, I am with you on the expectations from a GM (even a GM candidate). I have had great luck with GM candidates in the past, and most of the times they ended up being the final releases anyways. I have had pretty bad luck with the recent High Sierra GM Candidate. I tried upgrading and had plenty of issues. Then I tried reinstalling just the OS and I am still having issues.

    I will speak for myself, but I do realize that this is a beta and that it's totally voluntary. I knew that there was the risk, but it would have been great if it worked better :) I have tried troubleshooting my machine without much luck so my next step is to completely wipe the disk and start over, but I am going to wait for the final release before I do that. The system isn't ideal, but I can wait another few days.

    @StudioSanctum, did you end up submitting any official feedback to Apple using the Feedback Assistant app? Also, if you care enough to troubleshoot, seeing some logs from the Console would be helpful.
     
  17. anp27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #17
    No.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 21, 2017 ---
    All of my UA plugins show up and are working without problems in the latest High Sierra beta release. In fact, I don't have a single plugin that is not working in High Sierra. Logic 10.3.2 is working really great too.

    Just so you missed it, the GM isn't here yet. We are still in Beta so technically you only have yourself to blame.

    And again, why on earth would you install a beta on your main work computer?
     
  18. Autistic Behaviour macrumors member

    Autistic Behaviour

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Location:
    montreal
    #18
    I still get a pretty bad UI bug in logic pro 10.3.2 in HS (all the betas including GM candidate). Red gradient bug while choosing AU's and other elements, and sluggish trackpad behaviour while doing it.
    Im on a mid 2012 15" mbp retina and realised that if I open Logic, pick, lets say, a logic plug in, the integrated GPU is used and I have the bug described. But, if I load some 3rd party plugins, the discrete NVIDIA kicks in and the bug goes away.
    Also tried a clean install on a test partition with nothing else installed and its still there, so, its not a conflict with 3rd party apps. So, only when the hd 4000 is used do I get this bug. And of course, none of this happenned on Sierra, etc.
    I already posted this bug on another thread and sent feedback to apple.
     
  19. anp27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #19
    I have heard about this weird gradient bug but thankfully I haven't personally experienced it. I use a Trackpad too exclusively and am not experiencing the sluggishness either. I had some automation weirdness in early versions of High Sierra but I'm not seeing them anymore.
     
  20. Autistic Behaviour macrumors member

    Autistic Behaviour

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Location:
    montreal
    #20
    From the logs I've browsed through (console error logs), it seems to involve Metal 2 "shaders"....
     
  21. skillwill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #21
    Just incredible that someone who relies on their computer that much would install pre-release software. Yes the OS is a GM "CANDIDATE", but 1) still pre-release. I'd understand if you didn't rely so heavily on your Mac and just wanted to give it a go, 2) that only applies to the actual OS, other apps (even other Apple apps), still may not yet have been updated for it - and even if they have the OS hasn't even been released yet. My company doesn't update its OSs until they are very stable and all the software we use is compatible. And your mannerisms, fisherking for the first few posts was trying to help, and you just snapped.

    Oh by the way are you a music producer? I don't think I quite got it from the thousand times you mentioned it. No wonder the music industry is in such a mess.
     
  22. Fishrrman, Sep 22, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2017

    Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #22
    Interesting conversation, but...
    ... what does one NEED "1,300 plugins" for?

    How does one even remember what they are? What they do? Or the subtle differences between them?
     
  23. anp27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #23
    Logic X has a pretty good plugin manager so it's not that difficult. I personally am not from the thousands of plugins camp either. I'm happy with my small plugin list.
     
  24. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #24
    i know i promised to vanish from this thread, but (sigh) got curious.

    the fact is, if you line up 1300 plugins on any one track, you are guaranteed an awesome sound. (over 1300 is too many, and anything under 1300 is considered unprofessional)....
     
  25. anp27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #25
    Dammit I knew I was doing it wrong this whole time!!!
     

Share This Page

61 September 21, 2017