Dish Network's Turbo HD

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Tilpots, Oct 1, 2008.

  1. Tilpots macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #1
    Anybody got it? If so, please let me know what provider you were using before you got it and how it compares. Share any short comings or problems you have with Dish and definitely let me know what you like.

    I want to ditch cable. It costs too much and there's a serious lack of HD programming. I talked to a Dish rep today and found out I can get over 60 channels in HD for $50 a month. I'd have to keep the cable for internet, but this change could save me $40 per month and give me more HD programs, including several sports channels I don't get with cable.

    Thanks for sharing, I really need to know if the service is any good before I make the switch.:)
     
  2. wvuwhat macrumors 65816

    wvuwhat

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #2
    I'll be keeping an eye on this thread. I have dreamt of ditching Comcast for years now. They are terrible, from customer service all the way down to their programming. Everything I've heard about Dish has been positive. My pops just got Fios and likes it, so if that ever gets up here in the mountains it may be a good in between.
     
  3. shfreelance macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #3
    I hear you... I am also waiting to switch to Fios, may switch my TV to Satellite, IDK...
     
  4. Tilpots thread starter macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #4
    Well, I thought more people might have a say on this topic, but so far...

    Anyway, I'm still doing research online and I hear a lot of arguments and few facts. I've been looking at my local AVS forum and mostly I hear unobjective opinions. I have found out that both DirecTV and Dish have moved from Mpeg 2 to Mgeg 4 compression and that has drastically improved quality along with space, providing for more HD channels on both. At least they're both improving.

    I also looked at CNET and found excellent reviews for the ViP 622 DVR from Dish.

    Still would love to hear people's real world experiences ...
     
  5. shfreelance macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #5
    I am thinking about switching and getting Turbo HD Silver, with Local Channels. It turns out to be about $12 cheaper then Comcast (Even after I loose the Combo deal, where you get $10 off the internet. For having TV/Internet). But I also get a HD/DVR for the theater, HD for my room, and two standard boxes. But I can't figure out if you get all the regular programing like you do with Comcrap.

    Edit: I currently only have HD/DVR in the theater.
     
  6. Tilpots thread starter macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #6
    I think the Turbo HD packages are HD only network broadcasts. Having said that though, if a show on ESPN HD is broadcast only in SD, you will still get it.
    Now, if Comcast currently carries MSNBC, and it's not one of the networks listed in the Turbo HD package, you won't be getting it at all. Follow???

    It's not as if they're showing you some of the networks you get, they're showing you all of the networks you'd get. If it's not a network currently broadcast in HD and it's not on the list, you don't get it with Turbo HD, period.
     
  7. shfreelance macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Location:
    Eustis, FL
    #7
    Yes I get that, but I can only find the HD listings. I was looking for the SD channels. If they include some SD channels...

    But I think I am going to make the switch sometime next week, set up an appointment.
     
  8. Tilpots thread starter macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #8
    Sorry I didn't make it clearer...

    No SD channels come with the Turbo packages as I understand it. If you want SD channels, check they're America plans.
     
  9. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #9
    I saw the "You've got Turbo HD" on one of their advertising channels, but didn't bother to see what really changed in our package.

    I have to say the quality of their HD channels is pretty awesome, haven't noticed artifacts or resolution issues. I can check more this weekend to see about it.

    I think we got the top 100+local package. But then again, I don't remember :p
     
  10. Tilpots thread starter macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #10
    Cool. I'd love to hear a report. Have you been using the service long?
     
  11. kvasir macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #11
    We're looking at getting rid of Bright House and switching to either DirecTV or Dish. The only thing keeping me from switching right now to TurboHD is the fact that Dish does not have our local channels in HD yet.

    Indianapolis, In here...
     
  12. Tilpots thread starter macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #12
    I'm surprised a city as big as Indianapolis doesn't have local HD coverage by Dish yet. Do your local TV stations broadcast Digital? If so and depending how far away you are from the broadcast towers, I believe that a decent $60-$80 roof or attic mounted antenna should be all you need. From what I've read, The antenna will plug right into your Dish HD DVR and you'll be all set. It reads the PSIP programming info and records all your shows as if it came from Dish itself.

    The locals aren't available thru Dish here in Wilmington either, but all of our local big network affiliates broadcast a digital signal and I'm well within range.

    The other thing keeping me from getting Dish yesterday is the hope of a DVR in Apple TV. That's a whole 'nother topic and I won't rant in this thread!:)
     
  13. kvasir macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #13

    Honestly, I'm surprised too. Apparently, there may be a satellite going up next year that will carry our locals. Our local CBS affiliate isn't in HD on DirecTV either because of money issues. The same affiliate will be going off the air on Bright House at 12:00 tonight.

    TurboHD and the locals give me all the channels I would need. I'm not allowed to mount an antenna in our neighborhood, but I will look at the attic mount. I'd save over $30 per month going with TurboHD and my cable modem.

    If AT&T's UVerse would come to my neighborhood, it would be game over.
     
  14. Tilpots thread starter macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #14
    It's against Federal law to prohibit a person from receiving OTA TV signals in most circumstances. Check out this page on FCC's website for the detailed rules. Not sure how much you'd care to go up against your HOA, but the laws are pretty clear.


    Agreed. Neither Uverse or FiOS are available here either. I'd love to have a fiber optic link. I hear both have amazing HD quality.
     

Share This Page