Dish vs. Cable

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by imutter, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. imutter macrumors 6502

    imutter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere between Baltimore and DC
    #1
    So I have cable right now and am not so impressed. We live on a Military base and our options are limited. I would like to have better internet more than anything. We used to have Uverse from AT&T and I loved it but not an option here. I was wondering what you all think about your service and if you have Dish how much are service interruption by rain, snow etc.?
     
  2. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #2
    no cable no dish no directv. Comcast high speed 25Mbps for $30/month. Netflix + all that is available on the web.
     
  3. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #3
    Well I can say Dish is worthless for any type of online game because your ping times will be in the 600-1000+ms range. Compare that to 100 or less for cable.
     
  4. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

    iJohnHenry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    On tenterhooks
    #4
    All I know, is that cable is compressed, so HD is a joke. This would change if you had fibre, of course.

    Dish probably has far more lines of resolution, so you have to weigh the black-out due to weather vs a superior picture.
     
  5. imutter thread starter macrumors 6502

    imutter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere between Baltimore and DC
    #5
    Oh man my son would not like that
     

Share This Page