"Disk cannot be partitioned..."

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Nipz, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have searched and found similar threads but still cant figure this out.

    I have 200GB free on my 750GB HDD which has all been defragged into one space, yet i still get the "Disk cannot be partitioned because some files cannot be moved" error.

    I really cant afford to have my laptop down for too long so i dont want to go down the restoring from TimeMachine backup.

    What else is there i can try?

    Thanks,

    Ben
     
  2. justperry macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    You could replace the Time Machine backup via a clone using CarbonCopyCloner (version 3.4.7 is still free) or SuperDuper!, then start from the clone, reformat the internal HDD appropriately, clone everything back and start again from the internal HDD. The only downtime you experience is doing the start up / shut down times, as you can use your computer during the cloning process. CarbonCopyCloner even advertises it as such.

    Or if you have enough capacity on the TM HDD, you could add the clone to the TM backup and to that procedure above, just deselect the Backups.backupdb folder from the TM drive to not be cloned.
     
  4. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Thanks guys. Nothing to repair on the HDD :(

    Im running 10.8.2 so would have to pay £25 for CC which i dont really want to do just yet. No other options?
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Have you tried just partitioning booted from another source?

    i.e. install or clone your OS to an external HDD. Boot from that. Try and partition your drive.

    B
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    You do not have to pay for CCC, as version 3.4.7 still works free and also works with OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion.
     
  7. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I havent... i will look into it.

    It says on their site i need 3.5.2?
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Yes, in order for you to pay for it. I also would need 3.5.2 for Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, but CCC 3.4.7 works fine with Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, Mac OS X 10.7 Lion and OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion, as CCC 3.5 was introduced after the introduction of OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion, thus CCC 3.4.7 coexisted with OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion for quite some time and was working with it quite well.
    Anyway, as CCC 3.5.2 is a fully functioning trial, you could download that of course and use that, without paying while using it as trial.
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
  10. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Starting my clone now with the trial... gonna take 12 hours :)
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    That is about to be expected via USB 2.0, though it might become faster down the line, but then again, copying 1024 files being 1 MB in size is always slower than copying one file being 1 GB. And since you probably have around 700 GB of data to be copied, it will take some time.
     
  12. Nipz thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Its been 1:50 mins and its over half way... the only issue is that its only cloned 125GB so far! I have a 750GB HDD with 200GB free so surely half way should be 275GB?
     

Share This Page