Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacGurl111

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 4, 2010
Seattle
There is so many mixed information all over the internet. I am a little annoyed. So it's either do you need it or not? I am new to Mac. I need to make sure my computer is taken well care of. I don't want it to have files and things all over the place in the next 6 months and something happens. I don't download anything. it's all basic use. Internet, iWorks and iTunes. That's it.

Windows you need it for sure. Used windows for over who knows how many years. BUT with a MAC no one can give a definite answer? Why is that? I getting confused and getting annoyed. First someone said that you don't need it as the computer does it for you 'overnight'. Then, there is some who says to do it every 2 weeks? :rolleyes:

alexh123drum

macrumors member
Jul 23, 2009
Manchester, UK
I'm no expert but as far as I know you do not need to defrag on a mac. I believe this is because OSX doesn't fragment in the first place.

As far as cleaning goes, Im sure cleaning out temporary files and some caches and stuff could be done if you wanted.

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
Others will say you do not need to defrag. I've done it as matter of course, up from OS 9 into OS X. Works for me.

The best tool for this is "iDefrag".
For most defrag jobs, you have to boot from another volume as you can't defrag the startup drive.

For general "disk cleanup" tasks, try (for quick 'n' dirty execution of "cron" tasks) "MacJanitor".

For a more thorough cleaning, "CacheOut X" (sp?) is the tool to use.

MacBoobsPro

macrumors 603
Jan 10, 2006