Disk Failure

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mjsmike, Sep 15, 2017.

  1. mjsmike macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #1
    Hi there,


    I had a problem last night while updating my backup of one particular drive (both external). About half way through the backup (using CCC) my Mac shut down and after restarting, my source drive wouldn’t mount and the destination drive had only cloned 600GB of 1.72TB.


    I can see the source drive in Disk Utility and have tried to repair the disk multiple times. Sometimes it says it has repaired but twice now it says ‘Invalid Node Structure’.


    I’ve tried typing the following into terminal with no luck: sudo /sbin/fsck_hfs -yprd /dev/disk5s2 replacing disk5s2 with my own disks information.


    Now the drive mounts and says there is 1.72TB of data there but finder freezes if i try to access it.


    Is there anything else i can try?


    Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2
    DiskWarrior has fixed all of my HDD issues over the years, best investment I ever made.
     
  3. mjsmike thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #3
    Thanks. I just tried Disk Warrior but it can't see the disk. Even though Disk Utility can.
     
  4. mjsmike thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
  5. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Disk warrior is the best bet, i think you can create a boot disk from it. If that doesn't work, then the chance of successful recovery is low.

    May be there are some good free Linux software can do similar (or even better) job, but I am not familiar in this area.
     
  6. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    You say Disk Utility can see the disk, but does it show it as "Mounted"?
     
  7. ixxx69 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    Another one you can try is Prosoft's Data Rescue.

    But it sounds like your drive might be beyond help (without getting into seriously expensive data recovery services)
    --- Post Merged, Sep 16, 2017 ---
    BTW, this is a classic Mac Pro? Have you checked all the cables connections and try removing and reinstalling the hard drive, and all those sorts of common troubleshooting practices?
     
  8. InuNacho macrumors 65816

    InuNacho

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    In that one place
    #8
    I can vouch for Prosoft's Data Rescue. While not super recent, it did work to recover what I thought would be lost data from a friend's drive. Granted it took days to run, it recovered most of it.
     
  9. mjsmike thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #9
    Yes its a classic mac pro. Tried different usb ports and even installing the drive in one of the 4 slots inside but that causes the mac to freeze on startup. The drive shows up in disk utility but the volume is greyed out. After preparing the disk, it mounts but freezes if i try to open it. Yet it still says 1.72TB of data is on there.
     
  10. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #10
    greyed out = not mounted, why DiskWarrior cannot see it.
    Once it is mounted can DiskWarrior now find it?
     
  11. mjsmike thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014

Share This Page

10 September 15, 2017