Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!
  • Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.

larssmook

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2011
10
0
Netherlands
Can somebody tell me why the is a huge difference in disk space when you use cmd+i on the macintosh hd or when you go to 'about my mac'. In my case there is more than 60gb used for backups. (see image)

disk.jpg
 

larssmook

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2011
10
0
Netherlands
Both views for me report the exact same thing. i.e., no problems here.

They are not... The left panel say that there is 162,05GB available en the right panel says there is 95,61GB available. There is 66,45GB used for backups... Why is that!? Like free space on my HD ;)
 
Comment

axu539

macrumors 6502a
Dec 31, 2010
929
0
They are not... The left panel say that there is 162,05GB available en the right panel says there is 95,61GB available. There is 66,45GB used for backups... Why is that!? Like free space on my HD ;)

Which version of Lion are you using? I remember this being an issue a while back with DP1 and DP2, but I haven't heard about it lately. If it's one of the Developer Previews you're using, go into Time Machine preferences -> options -> and uncheck the local snapshots box. What's happening is that the system is backing itself up on the same disk. That feature has seemingly disappeared in the GM (I can't find it), so I guess Apple took note of the backlash from people's disk space being used up.
 
Comment

SimonJ

macrumors regular
Jul 11, 2008
112
0
Czech Republic
I'm getting the exact same thing. It seems to have something to do with 50 GBs worth of "Backups"... I have no idea where that is coming from. At first I had thought that it was some info that Time Machine was caching for when I connect my backup HD, but the "Backups" section stayed the same...
 
Comment

larssmook

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2011
10
0
Netherlands
I'm getting the exact same thing. It seems to have something to do with 50 GBs worth of "Backups"... I have no idea where that is coming from. At first I had thought that it was some info that Time Machine was caching for when I connect my backup HD, but the "Backups" section stayed the same...

I thought exactly the same...! I think it has something to do with 'version' but it's horrible if it need so much of your disk space. Especially when you work with big files in photoshop/illustrator etc.
 
Comment

macmongral

macrumors member
Jun 18, 2011
83
0
bet you don't have a time machine backup running , if so its the snapshots that are being saved

I have checked my test system and I have zero used for backup , but i do have a TC running to backup the HD as required
 
Comment

SimonJ

macrumors regular
Jul 11, 2008
112
0
Czech Republic
Since I dual boot into Windows using Boot Camp, I looked at the disk space used from there - it seems that the info from About this Mac -> More info is accurate as that disk space is shown as used. I have no idea why Get Info shows the space as free...

Btw. I'm also using the GM.
 
Comment

axu539

macrumors 6502a
Dec 31, 2010
929
0
The OSX Lion GM version... Clean install...

Hmm, that is strange then. Do you have Time Machine turned on? I currently have it off, have never backed up this partition, and it currently shows 0 KB used up for backups.

EDIT: Nevermind, I saw the above post.
 
Comment

larssmook

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2011
10
0
Netherlands
Hmm, that is strange then. Do you have Time Machine turned on? I currently have it off, have never backed up this partition, and it currently shows 0 KB used up for backups.

It made one back-up earlier this day... On the moment i'm @work so on the moment it's disconnected.

EDIT: My colleague has the same... Also MBP with clean install OSX Lion GM, but no Time Capsule and not used Time Machine yet. He has 34GB used for back-ups.
 
Comment

axu539

macrumors 6502a
Dec 31, 2010
929
0
It made one back-up earlier this day... On the moment i'm @work so on the moment it's disconnected.

Try to disable Time Machine (at least for now). Then restart your computer. Does the disk space come back?
 
Comment

larssmook

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2011
10
0
Netherlands
Try to disable Time Machine (at least for now). Then restart your computer. Does the disk space come back?

I try... I'll be back ;)

EDIT: See Image (When Time Machine is switched off) it's yellow now... and called other!

Schermafbeelding%202011-07-12%20om%2018.31.35.jpg
 
Last edited:
Comment

axu539

macrumors 6502a
Dec 31, 2010
929
0
I try... I'll be back ;)

EDIT: See Image (When Time Machine is switched off) it's yellow now... and called other!

Image

Interesting. I suspect my "other" bar has similar elements too then. This is not cool. I'm not sure what to do about that though. Maybe you need to manually go in and delete the stuff already backed up on the drive.
 
Comment

larssmook

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2011
10
0
Netherlands
Interesting. I suspect my "other" bar has similar elements too then. This is not cool. I'm not sure what to do about that though. Maybe you need to manually go in and delete the stuff already backed up on the drive.

After a second restart... This is the result...

Schermafbeelding%202011-07-12%20om%2018.57.29.jpg


The problem looks to be solved... But there is still a strange thing about it... Because if it display the backups on the TC the free space is not accurate.
 
Comment

axu539

macrumors 6502a
Dec 31, 2010
929
0
After a second restart... This is the result...

Image

The problem looks to be solved... But there is still a strange thing about it... Because if it display the backups on the TC the free space is not accurate.

I actually suspect it was storing actual backups on your local machine. What I would suggest, for now, is to leave automatic TM backups off, and just manually run TM when you're at home. This way, the random disk usage doesn't reappear.
 
Comment

larssmook

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2011
10
0
Netherlands
I think the last option in Time Machine options causes the problem...
Translation: Lock documents for [2 weeks] after the last edit.

Schermafbeelding%202011-07-12%20om%2019.14.19.jpg
 
Comment

Steve's Barber

macrumors 6502a
Jul 5, 2011
773
0
They are not... The left panel say that there is 162,05GB available en the right panel says there is 95,61GB available. There is 66,45GB used for backups...
You misunderstood my comment. I was saying *my* views of *my* drive info were the same. I believed yours :)

Anyway... glad you got it sorted out.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.