Disk Utility can't erase,partion, or add any partitions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Deerpark101, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. Deerpark101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #1
    I recently installed and uninstalled a few versions of linux on my imac. After installing some versions i realized I was going to need more space, so I went back into mac OSX and have been trying to add a new disk partitions with more GB.
    I tried delete the disk and nothing happens. It shows the loading symbol and "preparing to erase volume" but it never goes anywhere. Whenever I try to do anything in Disk Utility i get the same error

    "MediaKit reports no such partition""

    I tried the repairs,and verify with no help.

    I'm so lost. All I want to do is delete these disc already present;create a new one with 30.GB.....

    I'm not sure what I did wrong. I wish I had used time machine to create a restore point but I never did in history so I cant do any restore. I also lost my imac original restore disc. Is there anyone I can download someones time-machine "back up info" and load it? So my imac is restored to factory defaults? Is there just an options to completely restore my imac to factory settings?

    here is the log from my partition inspector:
    "*** Report for internal hard disk ***

    Current GPT partition table:
    # Start LBA End LBA Type
    1 40 409639 EFI System (FAT)
    2 409640 612515879 Mac OS X HFS+
    3 612515880 619249752 Basic Data
    4 624488537 625142414 Linux Swap
    5 619249753 624134518 Basic Data
    6 624134519 624488536 Linux Swap

    Current MBR partition table:
    # A Start LBA End LBA Type
    1 1 409639 ee EFI Protective
    2 * 409640 612515879 af Mac OS X HFS+
    3 612515880 619249752 0c FAT32 (LBA)
    4 624488537 625142414 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    MBR contents:
    Boot Code: GRUB

    Partition at LBA 40:
    Boot Code: None (Non-system disk message)
    File System: FAT32
    Listed in GPT as partition 1, type EFI System (FAT)

    Partition at LBA 409640:
    Boot Code: None
    File System: HFS Extended (HFS+)
    Listed in GPT as partition 2, type Mac OS X HFS+
    Listed in MBR as partition 2, type af Mac OS X HFS+, active

    Partition at LBA 612515880:
    Boot Code: None (Non-system disk message)
    File System: FAT32
    Listed in GPT as partition 3, type Basic Data
    Listed in MBR as partition 3, type 0c FAT32 (LBA)

    Partition at LBA 624488537:
    Boot Code: None
    File System: HFS Extended (HFS+)
    Listed in GPT as partition 4, type Linux Swap
    Listed in MBR as partition 4, type 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Partition at LBA 619249753:
    Boot Code: None (Non-system disk message)
    File System: FAT32
    Listed in GPT as partition 5, type Basic Data

    Partition at LBA 624134519:
    Boot Code: None
    File System: HFS Extended (HFS+)
    Listed in GPT as partition 6, type Linux Swap"


    Here are some screen shots:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]3
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    RE:
    "I'm not sure what I did wrong. I wish I had used time machine to create a restore point but I never did in history so I cant do any restore. I also lost my imac original restore disc. Is there anyone I can download someones time-machine "back up info" and load it? So my imac is restored to factory defaults? Is there just an options to completely restore my imac to factory settings?"

    Here's what I'd suggest:
    1. Have a second, external drive at hand. It could even be a bare drive connected to one of these:
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=usb+sata+dock&x=0&y=0
    2. Use the free app "CarbonCopyCloner" to clone the contents of your _Mac_ partition to the external drive, creating a bootable copy.
    3. Boot from the clone. It will appear exactly as did your internal partition for Mac. MAKE SURE YOU CAN BOOT FROM THE CLONE BEFORE GOING FURTHER (shouting intentional).
    4. NOW use Disk Utility to re-initialize and then repartition the internal drive to where you want it to be.
    5. Once re-initialized and re-partitioned, again use CarbonCopyCloner to "re-clone" the contents of your backup drive back to the internal drive.
    6. Again, make sure the internal now boots up, and is the way you want it, before you do anything to the external drive.

    - John
     
  3. arjen92 macrumors 65816

    arjen92

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level
    #3
    Why did install all those linux os's with bootcamp? If I were you I would have ran it virtual. You could have used vmware, parallels or virtual studio for that.
     
  4. Deerpark101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #4
    Running it virtually takes up more memory and slows down processing time.

    i didn't realize that i wouldn't be able to uninstall those partitions. I just assumed I could.
     

Share This Page