Disk Utility won't show hard disk anymore?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by spuality, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. spuality macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    #1
    I have a feeling that I already know the answer to this question, but I'll ask anyway since a lot of people on here are much smarter than me and know things that I don't know. So, here it goes: I have a 2006 Mac Pro with a 500GB HD. I recently put in a USED WD 150GB Raptor with the intention of installing the OS and applications on that drive and using the 500GB for everything else. So I put the drive in, turned on the computer with the Mac OS Lion recovery disk USB stick plugged in, went into the disk utility and verified the drive and erased it. Then, I began to install OS X, which said it was going to take about five hours because it had to download "additional components." So I went to bed, came back in the morning and it says the installer encountered an error. I restarted the computer to try the install again, but now it won't show the 150GB in the Disk Utility. I'm assuming that the hard disk just failed during the install (my fault for buying a used disk). Could there be any other possible answer?
     
  2. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #2
    Did you go into Partition, select one single partition and set up GUID?

    Have used Raptors, and now a Velociraptor as second drive in my Mac Pro and they are extremely sensitive to any knocks. Not delivered through the post was it? OWC had four Velociraptor 300GB with fitted backpane ready to mount in a Mac Pro last week, special price was about $140.00 with twelve month guarantee. Velociraptors scream compared to the older big brother Raptor.
     
  3. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #3
    Hello,

    Can you try mounting it in another Mac Pro or even a PC? See how it goes from there?

    Also, if it's dead, find yourself a used 80GB-120GB SSD instead. It will eat any raptors for breakfast.

    Loa
     
  4. MJL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #4
    1) I would get an Intel 40 Gb SDD (X25V), good enough for a boot drive and reasonably cheap, You will not need more than that for the boot partition.

    2) Lion 10.7.2 has introduced some nasty changes under the hood, especially with Time Machine and with Disk Utility. Since you have an older machine you may want to try booting from an older install DVD and use that Disk Utility. If that does not work shove in a Windows (!) install DVD go into the repair mode and find the command prompt. Once there use diskutil to "clean" the HDD - do not create any new partitions etc.

    (I have in the past removed a HDD from my 2011 Mac Mini because I couldnot do anything with it but the second time it happened while epxerimenting with backup and restore the diskutil saved me opening the machine up - once was enough for me)
     
  5. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #5
    Hello,

    IMO, 40GB is too tight for your boot + apps. Sure it will fit (my OS is about 25GB without Users), but with SSDs, you're better off leaving a lot of empty space, in order for wear leveling to work efficiently. Especially for a boot volume where there will be a lot of read/write during regular use.

    Loa
     

Share This Page