diskUtil resizeVolume claiming no space

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by link92, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. link92 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    #1
    Anyone able to explain this:
    Code:
    MBP:~ gsnedders$ diskutil list
    /dev/disk0
       #:                   type name               size      identifier
       0:  GUID_partition_scheme                    *149.1 GB disk0
       1:                    EFI                    200.0 MB  disk0s1
       2:              Apple_HFS Macintosh HD       148.7 GB  disk0s2
    MBP:~ gsnedders$ sudo diskutil resizeVolume disk0s2 100G "MS-DOS FAT32" XP 20G "MS-DOS FAT32" Vista 25G
    Started resizing on disk disk0s2 Macintosh HD
    Verifying
    Resizing Volume
    
    Resizing encountered error No space left on device (28) on disk disk0s2 Macintosh HD
    100 + 20 + 25 < 148.7 (I had started with 100G, 20G, and 28.7G).
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Maybe I'm misunderstanding what you're doing, but when you try to resize partitions "on the fly," on the boot drive, you have to actually preserve the existing boot partition. Think about it. You can't pull the rug out from under OS X by repartitioning the drive so it has no OS X partition while it's running OS X off that very partition. So you have to start by downsizing your HFS+ partition, which it looks like you have not yet done.

    Perhaps this will help?

    http://www.macgeekery.com/tips/cli/nondestructively_resizing_volumes
     
  3. link92 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    #3
    My understanding was that you could do it all at once… Let me try shrinking it first.

    [edit]Actually, that post says that what I thought is right.[/edit]

    [edit]One of the comments from that post:
    That seems a perfectly possible cause.[/edit]
     
  4. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #4
    I seem to remember getting that message when I tried to install windows on my MBP after using it for only OS X for some considerable months. I ended up buying iDefrag and running that before the diskutil command. I had no problems then.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Right...I think that's why that method runs the command that procures the permissible minimum size first. That way, you can see how much space you can squeeze out (in your case, sounds like not as much space as you want, although if the limit turns out to be fairly close, you might end up deciding its easier to just live with it than go find and install defrag tools).
     

Share This Page