Diskutility Cloning to SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wyattbiker, Apr 20, 2016.

  1. wyattbiker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #1
    Hello, I am in the process of cloning and replacing my Mid 2012 Macbook Pro Mt. Lion 10.9 OS X to a 1TB SSD. Does Diskutility clone both the main partition (Macintosh HD) and the Recovery Partition at the same time? Or do I need to run it as two separate cloning procedures. I could not find a link that explains the procedures to make sure both partitions are cloned (I need the SSD disk to be bootable/recoverable). Would appreciate any steps for this without having to resort to CCC or Superduper.

    Attached is my Diskutil showing all partitions (I had to enable Debug to see this list). Thanks!

    Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 8.29.13 AM.png
     
  2. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    As far as I am aware, it does not.

    Though I'm not sure what you mean by having to "resort to" CCC. It's incredibly straightforward and is guaranteed to work.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    One more vote for CCC.

    After you've tried it, you'll say to yourself, "why didn't I use this first..?"
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Yep... DU will clone everything over including the recovery partition. There is no need to enable debug mode or anything. Just go to the restore tab and restore Macintosh HD to the new drive and you are done.
     
  5. Spudlicious macrumors 6502

    Spudlicious

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    #5
    The wisdom of crowds says CCC can be relied on, and it works for me.
     
  6. wyattbiker thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #6
    Thank you all for you replies :)
     
  7. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here =>[*]
    #7
    CCC is good, but I use SuperDuper...
     
  8. gsmornot, Apr 20, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    If the OP uses CCC, there's no need to reinstall the OS, that app copies the recovery partition.
     
  10. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #10
    - As does Disk Utility, as per Weaselboy's comment above. I also just confirmed it myself, as I elected to use that option just today when upgrading my SSD.
     
  11. gsmornot, Apr 21, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
  12. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    Yes, if we're talking about SuperDuper, then extra steps will be needed, but the advice was given about CCC (and DU) and so my point was that its not a problem the OP should concern himself given the advice provided.
     
  13. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #13
    Fixed
     
  14. RichardC300 macrumors 65816

    RichardC300

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    #14
    Is this a new feature of El Capitan's disk utility? I remember in the past, people always had to use 3rd party software to clone their hard drives when installing their SSDs.
     
  15. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Nope... as long as there has been a recovery partition (Lion), a DU restore (clone) would copy it over.

    I think it is just not well known that DU does this, so people just automatically recommend some other utility when it is really not needed at all.
     
  16. wyattbiker thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #16
    Ok so DU worked like a champ, including encryption and recovery partitions. After I made Time Machine backup to another drive, i used theses steps.

    First plugin your target USB drive and with the DU erase it, giving it a name such as Mac HD Clone.You can leave default file system (Mac Journaled). Erase is very fast (unless you select secure erase option which takes hours)
    1. Cloning the internal Macintosh HD requires to restart and use the Command+R to open up recovery options menu and clone from there.
    2. Choose DU.
    3. Select the Macintosh HD and unlock it if it was encrypted.
    4. With Macintosh HD selected, Click on Restore Tab. Drag into Source your Macintosh HD, and into Destination your Mac HD Clone. Read the description below to verify that is what you want.
    5. Click on Restore and wait few hours.

    When done, If you want to test,restart the computer and hold down the Option key when you hear the sound until Apple logo shows up.
    Choose the USB drive to boot from (it will be slower logging in)

    When you log in and tries to mount the internal Macintosh HD, you will be asked to unlock it if it were encrypted. (If you don't, you wont see that in Finder but you will see external drive you booted from). Both drives will look exact.
    To boot from your internal drive restart and repeat the Option key process. You will be asked to unlock external if it were encrypted. If you cancel it will not mount the external drive.

    Disclaimer :): Don't blame me if this messes up. I typed it from memory. I only tried this on Mt. Lion Macbook Pro 2012. Don't know if Apple changed it since.

    Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 12.29.42 PM.png
     
  17. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #17
    Nice! Glad it worked out for you. :)
     

Share This Page