Display artifacts!

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Torschau, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. Torschau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #1
    I got my MBA about 2 weeks ago, and in 3 different occasions some windows and parts of the desktop would show display artifacts. I am attaching snapshots.

    I didn't recognize any specific pattern that could cause this, and the CPU was not overheating when the fact happened. Every time it was sufficient to reboot the system, and the problem disappeared.

    I am worried it might be a hardware issue, maybe related to the integrated graphics. Should I have the MBA replaced?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      226.9 KB
      Views:
      125
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      315.1 KB
      Views:
      129
  2. MazingerZ macrumors 6502

    MazingerZ

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #2
    Yes.
     
  3. ahaxton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #3
    I have the same thing happen for a split second, not long enough to capture occasionally when I'm moving windows / what not. Not very often, but it does look exactly like what you showed. To me it seems like a driver issue right?
     
  4. Torschau thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #4
  5. joephish macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Location:
    England
    #5
    I too have just had this problem a couple of minutes ago :-( I really don't want to send my MacBook Air back anywhere just yet, I love it too much! I'm going to wait to see if it gets any worse.

    It first happened when I opened it up from sleep, the entire top half of the screen went corrupt. Then, when I was rotating an image in Preview, the whole screen went corrupt. Then, individual windows. Approximately 20-30 pixels on the right and bottom edges of my desktop image are corrupt right now (they have filled themselves with black, with small white 3 pixel streaks).

    Argh :-(
     
  6. Alfadoc macrumors member

    Alfadoc

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    #6
    I have a line through my toolbar. Began all of a sudden and now exists all the time. Headed to the Genius Bar tomorrow.
     
  7. joephish macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Location:
    England
    #7
    It seems to be getting worse. It's getting more and more frequent :-(

    I'm going to see if I can take it to a genius bar, otherwise I guess I'm going to have to deal with sending it back for a replacement/repair *sigh*.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. frunty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    West Des Moines, IA
    #8
    I've noticed artifacts when moving/closing/switching windows once in a while, but only since installing the Leopard Graphics Update. Yours looks a lot more serious though...
     
  9. Alfadoc macrumors member

    Alfadoc

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    #9
    Disappointing. Went to the Genius Bar today and they said to call Applecare and have them ship me a box to send it in to the service depot...

    Geez, three weeks old and this!
     
  10. ahaxton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #10

    Sorry about that! Definitely a weird issue you are having. Strange being it's a worse version of what quite a few of us get here and there. You'll probably get a new MBA out of it, that's always nice!
     
  11. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #11
    so thats what that was called.
    happened all the time on my windows pc
    but that was mostly because i was running the processor at like 99% because it was so slow
     

Share This Page