Display keypad after call answered?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by IlliniDude, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. IlliniDude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #1
    Is there a way to set the iphone to display the keypad when a call is connected instead of the menu with speakerphone, mute, etc? I have 2 reasons to want this...

    1) I have my condo's buzzer linked to my iPhone. When someone buzzes my phone rings and I have to push 9 to let them in. I'd like to be able to do this with one touch instead of first tapping to bring up the keypad.

    2) When I call my bank, credit card, airlines, etc. the first thing it usually asks is to push 1 for english or whatever.
     
  2. equlizer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #2
    umm hit the "keypad" button after the call has been answered/made:rolleyes:
     
  3. IlliniDude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #3
    Thanks- I'm trying to figure out if it's possible to cut that step out. I know it's lazy.
     
  4. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    wtf?

    Um, yeah. It's not even a press, it's a touch. it makes complete sense the way it's done now.
     
  5. dccorona macrumors 68020

    dccorona

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #5
    this is a legit want

    it shouldnt take an extra step to do something like this

    it should at least be an option (although as far as i can tell it isnt)
     
  6. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #6
    huh?

    On a smart phone with a touch sensitive screen and one real button, yes it should. It's one touch. I fail to see the need to get around one touch.
     
  7. Quincy9219 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #7
    Ummm...it's not possible to do. And if you can't press the screen once to pull up the key pad, I don't know what to tell you. That's just flat out pathetic, like legitimately, completely pathetic. I guess some people just can't handle a half second slowdown. Or just are so lazy they can't push one button. Hey you know, a lot of those menus you mentioned are now voice sensitive, so you don't even have to worry about pushing any buttons.
     
  8. IlliniDude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #8

    Name calling is fun!
     
  9. Quincy9219 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #9
    It's just the truth. I'm not trying to be mean, or bitter, but it's really sad. Really, really sad.
     
  10. IlliniDude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #10
    Why? Because I'm wondering if a small tweak is possible? Obviously, it's no big deal to make one touch to bring up the keypad, but what's the harm in exploring the posssibility? It's not like other stuff discussed here is always groundbreaking.
     
  11. Quincy9219 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #11
    Because by making your small tweak you negate some of the better functions of the phone. Next time you make a call, pull the phone away from your ear and take a look at the functions in that menu. You have speaker phone, hold, add a line (three way calling), and a couple others. Now by making your tweak you remove all those functions, and then come back asking how you could undo all your little tweak because you wanted those back. Also, it bothers me that people don't bother looking at the device before asking the rest of us to do what they want for them. If you wanted to make that tweak, assuming it was possible, why don't you look around a little for it.
     
  12. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #12
    Wow. People are certainly cranky today. It seems like a legitimate request. If you don't want it or need it, that's fine. Innovation is not a result of accepting the status quo. I would like my phone to default to speakerphone. If it can already do this, be nice. :) I haven't started searching yet.
     
  13. IlliniDude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #13
    umm.. when the keypad is up, you can still switch back to that menu with one tap (and I seem to recall someone calling someone else pathetic for not wanting to make one tap).

    I'm well aware of the features of the phone and how it is setup to work. I'm just interested in changing the default. Having the keypad be the default instead of the menu would in no way remove the other functions.

    I have looked, and couldn't find anything... so I asked. And unless I'm missing something, no one has provided a solution yet. You seem to think I haven't looked around, so please tell me, where should I have looked that I would have found my answer?
     
  14. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #14
    yep

    Regardless of all of our opinions on whether this should even be allowed (doesn't it feel like we are arguing it?), it doesn't seem to be possible, but I now understand that this feature would be useful, for the same reason it would be nice to change the home screen or make the bottom dock like thing bigger: choice.
     

Share This Page