Display on MacBook is weird

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Zwhaler, May 28, 2007.

  1. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #1
    I just woke my new BlackBook from sleep, and something is off about the display. I have checked my contrast and brightness and that is not the issue. I cannot seem to calibrate my screen it says that "The factory profile for the display cannot be found" and I can't calibrate it. There are calibration profiles on this computer, and when I change them the screen looks exactly the same, so the profiles do not appear to change anything on how the screen looks. Help!

    As an example, when I activate dashboard, instead of the background going black/grey, it goes blue. The white colors have been changed to dominately blue-ish rather than white-ish.

    ...and I've tried repairing permissions
     
  2. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #3
    It did the trick! Thanks, I forgot to do that :D
     
  3. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #4
    Bad news - everytime I use fast user switching to go from a different account to mine, the same problem persists. I do not want to have to restart the computer 10 times a day. Help please? I tried switching to a different user and now that account has the same issue too! What is wrong :(

    To be exact, if I log into my account (there are 2 accounts in all), log into the other account, and log back into mine, the screen goes all weird and I cannot fix it without a restart.
     
  4. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #5
    This is something that's happened with me with fast user switching.

    I had an applescript program that avoids having to restart but I don't do fast user switching any more since my wife got her own Mac, so it'll take me some time to track it down. But don't do anything drastic.

    Edit: Try typing this in Terminal - it should be all on one line:
    Code:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/CoreGraphics.framework/Versions/A/Resources/DMProxy 
     
  5. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #6
    Now I'm just wondering if this is something that occurs in all of the news MacBooks, or just some of them. I hope it can be fixed. :eek:

    Edit: just tried the command - it did the trick! I'll check if the problem persists.
     
  6. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #7
    This used to happen on my iMac (first gen Intel) so, no, it's not MacBook related.

    Edit: Glad it worked for you. The problem will persist for as long as you use fast user switching. So I suggest you create a script using that command and save it on your desktop so you can double click it when the display screws up again.
     
  7. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #8
    Ok, I guess I will give Apple a call and see what they have to say about it. Thanks for the command, that makes it a lot easier. :)
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    It's a somewhat-common problem that's been around for quite a while now. I've experienced it a couple of times on my PowerBook.
     
  9. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #10

Share This Page