Display Power Button dialog instead of sleep mode

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by friolz, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. friolz macrumors newbie

    friolz

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    #1
    I have an Apple Cinema Display 23" and found under Settings > Displays > Options the ability to configure the power button to sleep or wake my Mac Pro.

    While waking it up works perfectly fine trying to put my Mac to sleep only shows up the dialog which lets me Restart, Sleep, Cancel or Shut Down.

    Did I get something wrong? Is this the supposed behavior? I'd rather have my Mac get to sleep without asking me any questions...
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Do you press the button too long? AFAIK, there is no setting for that (at least not via system preferences). My Mac Pro go to sleep directly without any issue. And the button should work like following.

    1) short tap - direct sleep
    2) short hold (about 3 seconds) - dialogue
    3) long hold (5 seconds) - forest shutdown
     
  3. friolz thread starter macrumors newbie

    friolz

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    #3
    Short tap also brings up the dialog box. Do you also have an ACD 23"?
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Oh, I got what you mean now. I missunderstood that you are talking about the Mac Pro's power button.

    By the way, I am using the 27" ACD, there is no power button on this model, all automatically controlled by the Mac.
     
  5. friolz thread starter macrumors newbie

    friolz

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    #5
    Ok. No one here with an ACD 23 having the same issues?
     

Share This Page