Display Set-Up issue...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Gemylon, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. Gemylon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Mylon
    #1
    Hi there

    Something strange has happened to my Display Setup,
    and I can't figure out what is going on...

    I have connected 2 x 23 " Cinema displays to my MAC Pro,
    but the strange thing is that a third one, a VGA display,
    is also showing up as part of my desktop :
    When I go to System Preferences-Displays-Arrangement,
    I see there is a third VGA display in the setup !

    So my desktop has this non-viewable area from this 'none existing'
    VGA display in addition to my 2 visable Cinema displays.

    Can you imaging when I clik to open a window,
    and that window actually opens up in this none-viewable area,
    and I have to go and try to find it and grab it and drag it onto my visible desktop.

    This is totally annoying !

    Anyone know how to solve this ? :confused:

    How to get rid of this VGA display in my setup ?

    Thankful for any help.

    Geir
     
  2. Gemylon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Mylon
  3. Gemylon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Mylon
    #3
    OK.

    Lets show an image of this...

    So, how is this possible when I only have 2 Cinema Displays connected ?
    The small one is a VGA, and It does not exist !

    [​IMG]



    Any suggestion on how to clean this up ?


    Thanks
    G
     
  4. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
  5. Gemylon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Mylon
    #5
    From System Profiler :

    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT:

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 512 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0611
    Revision ID: 0x00a2
    ROM Revision: 3233
    Displays:
    Cinema HD:
    Resolution: 1920 x 1200
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Cinema HD:
    Resolution: 1920 x 1200
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported


    Thanks
    G
     
  6. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #6
    You may have already tried this but... try connecting just one 23" display and get that one correct without the VGA display showing up. Then add the second 23" and hopefully the weird VGA display doesn't show up again.
     
  7. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    I have no idea why that is happening. However, if you keep having problems with not being able to find the window, maybe you should turn spaces on. If you set it up for a key command or hot corner to show all spaces, then you can see all displays in the main display and drag the window to wherever you want.

    The first image shows all the displays in my main monitor and the second is after I dragged the finder window from my second display to the main one.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Gemylon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Mylon
    #8
    What happens when I disconnect each display,
    is that the VGA just follows the one connected.
    Cant make it disappear in the Syst. Prefs no matter what I do...



    Good idea !
    I just set that up, and I can now easily get hold of the windows
    that might open in that phantom VGA display.
    So for now, this is a useful workaround,
    but I still need a permanent solution to get rid of this 'ghost'...

    Thanks so far :)

    G
     
  9. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    Just a thought, this is an official Apple card, not a flashed one?
     
  10. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #10
    A flashed card could have broken the ability to properly detect whether a VGA display is connected or not.
    If you didn't and use an Injector instead, you can disable the VGA connector completely in the plist.
     

Share This Page