Display using wrong resolution??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by nick9871, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. nick9871 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #1
    So I tried to set up bootcamp on my 10.5.6 17" iMac. the windows installation failed because of a bad disc so I restored my computer using my OS X disc and time machine. Now my display in OS X is being forced to 1024x768 and I cannot change it to anything else. It looks terrible and there are some artifacts... Any idea what the heck happened?
     
  2. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #2
    It's fairly normal for the installer DVD to use a lower resolution. However, if your fully booted into the OS, after installation, you should be able to change the resolution from the System Preferences / Display.
     
  3. nick9871 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #3
    I cant change the resolution to anything other then 1024x768 in system preferences... Also putting the system to sleep no longer works. It is like the display driver is corrupted...
     
  4. nick9871 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #4
    Ok I just realized my sound is not working either and it says there is no sound device... What the heck happened. Its like it doesnt have any of the correct system drivers anymore.
     
  5. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #5
    Yes, that's what it sounds like to me, too. Have you tried reinstalling the drivers from your DVD?
     
  6. nick9871 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #6
    How do I go about doing that? I have the DVD.
     
  7. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #7
    Put the DVD in while the computer is running on Windows. The driver installer is on there somewhere, can't remember where offhand.
     

Share This Page