DIY G4 CPU Upgrade Round 2 Putting the Power into FlowerPower

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by LightBulbFun, Apr 4, 2017.

  1. LightBulbFun, Apr 4, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 12, 2018

    LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    this is a sort of follow on post from my first DIY G4 thread so I do recommend you check that out here: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/making-a-g4-pismo-upgrade-at-home.2019269/

    so following from the successful CPU Swap I had done on the PowerBook G3 Pismo card, I really wanted to fit a G4 to an iMac G3, the Problem i faced was finding a suitable iMac G3, now not all iMac G3s are compatible with G4 7400 and 7410 CPUs the only ones that are where the iMac,1 PowerMac2,1 and PowerMac2,2 these iMacs used normal 750s with backside L2 cache which the G4 7400 and 7410 where designed to be drop in replacements for.

    Now I did have a PowerMac2,2 But it was a rare FlowerPower model at the time i did not want to risk that iMac incase something went wrong with the BGA CPU swap, so for a long time I kept my eyes peeled for a suitable iMac G3 but nothing suitable turned up and temptation got the better of me and i embarked on the journey that was upgrading my FlowerPower iMac G3 with a G4 CPU :)

    sadly it did not go to plan, when I soldered the G4 onto the iMac Logic board the iMac would not POST at this point I had a close look at the CPU and saw 2 solder balls had bridged to each other, Now i had a couple options i could of lifted the chip and put a fresh 7410 or I could ask if a friend (max1zzz on 68k MLA) wanted to have a go at it as he had the equipment to reball existing 7410 (which would of meant not using a new 7410 if the only problem was bad BGA balls) (he also has better tools then i do which reduced the risk the board getting damaged during the BGA rework) and thankfully he agreed to have a go at it :)

    so i sent the board off to him, lots of PMing between me and him later, we deduced that the original 7410 had died during the first CPU swap and once we determined that the Logic board was ok we attempted to swap in a Fresh 7410 CPU and lo and behold The iMac G3 Board fired up with the G4 :) at this point he sent the logic board back and i fitted it back into its iMac G3 body and the iMac fired up and quickly booted into the tiger image that was on the hard drive :) i was quite ecstatic to see it boot up it was good to have my iMac working again and this time with a G4 CPU! :)

    now came some of the fun stuff with a G4 CPU now fitted I could install 10.5.8 leopard on an iMac G3 :) indeed it booted right up with no issues (yay for UMA/Uninorth)

    I believe this is the only FlowerPower iMac G3 that has a G4 fitted as the US FlowerPower iMacs where not compatible with G4s so the companies that did offer G4 upgrade services did not accepted them (as all those companies where based in the US) it would also the first FlowerPower iMac Running 10.5.8 leopard :)

    all in all its been quite the journey and in a way im happy it went wrong initially, as me and max1zzz exchanged quite a lot of interesting information to do with this and a few PowerPC Macs and its lead to some other cool ideas that i hope to attempt :)

    overall it runs really nicely with the G4 CPU soldered on, i had a Full 100% CPU load going (spotlight indexing in leopard and then geekbench) for over id say 2 hours and it never crashed or anything during that ordeal, theres also a nice little speed boost thanks to the G4 :)

    and now for some pictures and a geekbench result :) https://browser.geekbench.com/geekbench2/view/2628797

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    this is just after i had lifted the old IBM PPC750L off of the logic board (I Have since figured out how to remove the plastic gasket thing on the CPU cleanly with out leaving any residue on the CPU)
    [​IMG]

    and heres a shot of the board now with the MPC7410 soldered to the board by max1zzz
    [​IMG]
     
  2. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #2
    That's great! Thanks for sharing your results. I wish I could get a 7448 in a powerbook this way.
     
  3. LightBulbFun thread starter macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #3
    NP, we have a bunch of other ideas we want to try with other macs and CPUs as well :)

    yeah we are hoping to experiment with 7448s but trying to actually find a 7448 is easier said then done LOL
     
  4. radioisotope macrumors newbie

    radioisotope

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    The Matrix
    #4
    I have a 7448 in my cube. Its the dual processor one, 1.3Ghz. Its a monster.
     
  5. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    7448s are amazing-I have a 2ghz one in my DA G4s.

    Not only does the huge L2 cache make them feel faster than 7447s clock-for-clock, but the power consumption(and thus heat) is miles ahead of the 7447.

    I wish Daystar was still in business :)
     
  6. LightBulbFun, Apr 22, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2018

    LightBulbFun thread starter macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #7
    someone has gone done stollen me iMac! https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/232730641190

    nah Just kidding :D I did check that my iMac was where I put it when i spotted this listing tho....

    im posting this as its very interesting to see

    as not only is this the first G4 iMac G3 iv seen for sale its also a FlowerPower one and as I said in the OP all the companies that offered slot loading G4 upgrades did not offer FlowerPower options as those companies where US based and in the US the FlowerPower used a 750CX CPU which is not G4 friendly

    im very curious then as to what the story behind this ebay listing is, I wonder if the guy at the time knew that he had a compatible iMac being that the UK/Euro spec FP was G4 friendly and specifically contacted one of the upgrade companies in the US to upgrade his iMac?

    (as far as I know there where no companies in Europe that offered any G4 iMac G3 upgrades) it is a shame he does not post a full system profiler shot, if it had 512KB L2 cache he may of had it done by just a BGA rework company rather then one of the Apple Mac upgrade companies (the upgrade companies also upgraded the L2 cache to 1MB) edit: I noticed there is a system profiler shot (is there seller reading this? or am I just going blind? :D) and that there is 1MB of L2 which means it probably has been upgraded by a company (im not aware of any DIYer upgrading the backside L2 on any Mac, tho I do plan to try and upgrade the backside L2 on my clamshell G4 and if that works I will be upgrading the L2 on my own FP G4 :) )

    just something pretty interesting I wanted to share :)

    (Mod note: this is not my ebay listing)
     
  7. swamprock macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Very nice! Once bunn is home and has the time, I'm sending my Bondi CPU card off to him for a G4 boost. Quite amazing work gentlemen!
     

Share This Page