Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

djab

macrumors newbie
Original poster
I am a professional DJ that uses Mac for DJing. The software i use is Disco XT Pro. I was wondering if there is anyway to include turntables to scratch with my music. Is there any way to do this in Disco XT or would i need another software?
What kind of turntables would i need?
Thanks

xparaparafreakx

macrumors 65816
Jul 29, 2005
Do you need turntables? The requires a mixer, 2 turntables and software/audio interfaces.

Since you started as a digital DJ, try getting something like a VCI-300 with traktor or "sigh" serato itch.

djtechtools.com

skratchworx.com/newspage.php4

However if you like to go the turntable route. Bring out the wallet.

2 Technics 1200s (buy it used, if you dont keep it, still resable.

High quality mixer (this can go from 2 channel to 4, 6, or 8. Audio interfaces in it. Midi)

2 Neddles (depending on your preferences)

Software. Traktor Scratch Duo, Traktor Scratch Pro, Rane Serator Scratch Live.

From those you will get to pick your audio interface.

Figure out what you want to do.

Whatever you do, DO NOT PICK SERATO ON THE BASE THAT OTHER PEOPLE USE IT. This also applies to Traktor too.

BTW, also do you want to mix videos?

wilycoder

macrumors 6502
Aug 4, 2008
Do you need turntables? The requires a mixer, 2 turntables and software/audio interfaces.

Since you started as a digital DJ, try getting something like a VCI-300 with traktor or "sigh" serato itch.

djtechtools.com

skratchworx.com/newspage.php4

However if you like to go the turntable route. Bring out the wallet.

2 Technics 1200s (buy it used, if you dont keep it, still resable.

High quality mixer (this can go from 2 channel to 4, 6, or 8. Audio interfaces in it. Midi)

2 Neddles (depending on your preferences)

Software. Traktor Scratch Duo, Traktor Scratch Pro, Rane Serator Scratch Live.