dmg issue

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by roeiboot, Sep 16, 2009.

  1. roeiboot macrumors regular

    roeiboot

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #1
    i just downloaded iTunes and another app, both .dmg files... i'm trying to install them on a iMac G3 with OS 9.2, the iTunes one opens a new window but does not do anything after that, the other app opens a Internet Explorer window and shows "code", am i out of luck or is there hope ?

    tks...
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    .dmg files tend to be for OSX. Not (very old) Mac OS 9. Are you sure you have downloaded the correct thing?
     
  3. roeiboot thread starter macrumors regular

    roeiboot

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #3
    yea, well it's what the Apple web site suggested i download. it may be too late (since i'm doing all this for a JB) but i believe i should be able to install OS X on the iMac correct ?
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    You may be able to install an older version of OSX on that Mac. Perhaps up to 10.4. Check first then hit e-Bay.
     
  5. ewilson6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #5
    don't waist time or money installing os X on this dinosaur, everything will run real slow because osx uses up so much memory.

    You can always use your G3 as a boat anchor though, you should get many years of satisfaction out of it!
     
  6. roeiboot thread starter macrumors regular

    roeiboot

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #6
    i think it is 10.4 indeed.... iMac's are cheaper as a copy of OS X :eek:

    *removed question..*
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Not legally and even asking the question is not allowed on these forums.
     
  8. roeiboot thread starter macrumors regular

    roeiboot

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
  9. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #9
    dude dont be a pirate because you'll spend your days at guantamo bay. 10.2 or 10.3 should run just fine on the imac.
     
  10. roeiboot thread starter macrumors regular

    roeiboot

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #10
    removed the question. finding a store that sells "old" OS' isn't easy :]
     
  11. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Which is why I suggested e-Bay. Or if you post which country you are in members may be able to suggest stores that might still carry old OSes.
     
  12. roeiboot thread starter macrumors regular

    roeiboot

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #12
    this is weird.... i went home for lunch, found OS X (has no version # on it), popped one in the iMac, and it returns:

    "This disk is unreadable by this computer.
    Do you want to initialize the disk?
    Name: untitled
    Format: ProDos OK
    Eject Initialize" [these last two are options]

    i'm having little to no luck with this matter.... :(
     
  13. ewilson6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #13
    ProDos is from early versions of windows like windows 98, windows 95 windows 3.1

    there is no way your disk is formatted as ProDos and have OS X on it.
     

Share This Page