Do Geniuses offer Out-of-Warranty replacements, or does a customer request them?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by gdjsnyder, Oct 26, 2010.

1. gdjsnyder macrumors 6502a

gdjsnyder

Long story short- my iPhone 4 shattered this morning. I'm a nursing student, I was helping an elderly man out of his bed, his arm slipped and grabbed my lab coat and the iPhone 4 fell onto ceramic flooring. (The ONLY day I did not put a bumper on because I was running late).

Anyway, scheduled an appointment at the Apple store for tonight, which is 2 hours away. I know Apple offers $199 replacements, and I'm really hoping I can get that. Although this is my fault, so it's really not their concern to give me it. However, I know people on the forums have gotten replacements for shattered glass.

So, I had my mom call the Apple store, because she offered to loan me the money in order to get a replacement, but she wanted to speak with a manager about me using her credit card (she really didn't have time to run to her bank and then mine to deposit money in my account). So she spoke with an employee who told her, to quote "no Apple store has ever replaced a broken glass iPhone with another phone. It has never happened". Now, I know this girl wasn't a Genius bar employee and I know people have gotten broken phones replaced. My main questions- should I ask for a replacement for $199, or will that possibly be offered to me. Again, it is not Apple's fault my phone broke, but it's my only phone and I can't wait for them to order the part in and then drive another 2 hours to get it placed. The girl on the phone also told my mom it will take about 7-10 days for the part to come in and I have to come down and have it looked at before they will order the part.

By the way, she lost all credibility when she told my mom that she couldn't speak with a manager because the manager called off that day, which, ya know, managers can't do...

2. thespazz macrumors 6502a