Do GPS Apps Use Data?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by carebearsx3, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. carebearsx3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #1
    I was wondering if I used Google Maps or Navigon, would it use data? I ask this because I plan to get the 2GB plan, and don't want to run it all up... :(

    Also, will AT&T text me if I'm running out of data for that month?
     
  2. coelacanth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #2
    It depends. Google map needs to download the map data as you go so yes it uses data.

    Navigon has built-in map so it doesn't need to download huge data, but navigon can communicate with their server and get traffic info to get the best route. This should be very light on data usage so I won't be worried.
     
  3. vong macrumors 6502a

    vong

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #3
    can we use our wifi @ home and then let it download all the necessary data?
     
  4. Drag'nGT macrumors 68000

    Drag'nGT

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
  5. agoat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    #5
    What about people running iPhone on T-mobile using Navigon?
     
  6. drenline macrumors 6502a

    drenline

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #6
    *BUMP*

    Has anyone figured the answer to this question yet? Will the navigon app in the app store work without using any data plan?
     
  7. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #7
    I know tomtom doesn't need data to work. It can use data for traffic etc though.

    Just turn off your data and see if the thing works or not.
     
  8. systole macrumors member

    systole

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesnowta
    #8
    this is the best route if you don't want to use any data. However if you are on a data plan, a secondary app that updates more frequently, downloading as you go would be worthwhile as a backup.
     
  9. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #9
    Yes, that's a major selling point of Navigon (as well as TomTom).
     
  10. Rayfire macrumors 68020

    Rayfire

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    PNW
    #10
    It would still work. Tried it on my Canada trip (from Seattle) with cellular data off and it worked flawless still. No traffic info though due to turning off cellular data.
     

Share This Page