Do I Even Need to Wait?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cleanbreaks, Feb 16, 2010.

1. cleanbreaks macrumors newbie

I'm a first time Mac buyer, and of course like everyone else I'm wanting to wait for the anticipated MBP refresh. I'm desperately in need of a computer though. I'm a student, and I'm having to take the bus to get to a lab on campus just to submit assignments online...it's miserable. I can't afford a tide-me-over PC and then the MBP I want when it finally gets refreshed. I was planning to get a MBP because the Apple Store rep told me if I want to do any video or image editting, I should go for the Pro because the RAM is a better kind and it has a dedicated graphics card. (I'm just learning on Final Cut and Photoshop so I'm not sure what my hardware needs will be, but I'm going to assume they will increase at least slightly as I learn.) But I have one major constraint, and that is that I'm not getting anything but a 13" MBP. I like the size, I need the size, it's just overall the right one for me.

(This is probably a good time to say I'm not really savvy about computer hardware.) Does the 13" MBP even have a graphics card, or is it just an integrated graphics chip? Looking at the Apple Store, I see GeForce 9400m listed on 13" models, and 15" with the option to upgrade to "9600m GT with 256MB". Does that mean that I won't even have a graphics card on a 13"?

I say all that to ask this: If I'm dead-set on a 13" MBP, am I even going to benefit from waiting? I'd hate to wait for a refresh only to find out that it didn't really do me any good because only the models I'm not buying get an upgrade. I know there's the whole thing with the Intel i3, i5, and i7 processors, and that would be great, but I figure that at my beginner's level of hardware needs, even if I start doing more complex stuff, I should be alright to use the processor that has been working for everyone else for a while now.

2. kyzen macrumors regular