Do I get a Sapphire RX 580 8GB Pulse or RX Vega 56?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by PowerMac G4 MDD, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #1
    Naturally, my classic Mac Pro has been having issues with my GTX 1060. In fact, the GTX 1060 has it the worst, since there's a driver glitch which causes screen artifacts every time GTX 1060 owners wake their machines up. It requires that the user logs out and logs back in, every time...

    Someone recommended that I replace this with an RX 580 8GB Pulse card, since it's the same card that Apple is using for their eGPU beta kits; but, now, the RX Vega 56 has been released, and it appears to have the same price tag as an RX 580 8GB and much better performance.

    I wondering if I buy the 580 soon or just wait to see if the RX Vega 56 works fine in a classic Mac Pro and also runs solely off the two motherboard connectors. What do you all think?
     
  2. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #2
    I personally weighed this choice up and decided to go with the RX 580. Vega seems to simply rely on brute force (power) to get results. Add to that that here in the Netherlands I've seen prices as high as €1000 for the Vega 64, I can't imagine the Vega 56 will be much cheaper over here.

    The prices of RX 580's are however becoming more and more reasonable, the one I have on order (Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB) cost me about €270.

    Made the most sense to me.
     
  3. fendersrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #3
    Buying a 480/580 is stupid at this point. It's MORE than the Vega 56.

    Wait.
     
  4. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    #4
    What?
     
  5. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #5
    Show me a Vega 56 for less than £221/€242 then.
     
  6. William_si macrumors regular

    William_si

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    Croatia
  7. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
  8. William_si macrumors regular

    William_si

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    Croatia
    #8
    Usually until Amazon ships them this is not a purchase contract and the price not guaranteed - fell too often for that in the past, especially on AMD AM1 CPUs... but it seems some qty is distributed at this price:

    The cheapest 580 available i see is 11265-05-20G (Sapphire) at 197€ without VAT and markup - stock listed as 27.08.2017

    Vega 64 (MSRP 499$) cards are EU wide available in <100 qty for 499.99€ w/o VAT and seller markup (this is 21275-02-20G, Sapphire also). I paid initial offer 424€ without VAT at Mindfactory (DE) - with VAT that are 509€

    Vega 56 are not shipping yet it seems; listed price for <100 at distri in Germany is - again without VAT and markup - 375€, retail with VAT 475€

    At 200€ the 580 is the better deal, at 300€ (non Amazon price, eg. Mindfactory, Klarsicht and Also) or more a 56 might make more sense.
     
  9. GCSMatt macrumors newbie

    GCSMatt

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    #9
    Hey Gang, I'm new here - I have a 2010 cheese grater 12 core, 3.46 with 64gb ram that i use for Pro Tools and Final Cut - i have an R9 280x that i was hacked that i bought off of ebay - has 5.0gt/s link and boot screen. Just wondering if I can upgrade to an 8gb RX580, I am running El Capitan, but I think all of my stuff will work with Sierra, so I am not worried about upgrading. I want to get as much life as possible out of the cheese grater.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Of course you can install the RX580 if you want to. However, it won't work in El Capitan, you have to upgrade the OS as well.
     
  11. GCSMatt macrumors newbie

    GCSMatt

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    #11
    Roger that, so it has to be High Sierra, correct?
     
  12. Naimfan macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #12
    No - I'm running Sierra with a RX-580.
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    AFAIK, OOTB in 10.12.6 and 10.13
     
  14. pierrox macrumors regular

    pierrox

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #14
    10.12.6 is the minimum for OOTBness. Wonder how much more power in the RX580 vs the R9 280X which is a pretty cool choice for a cMP. Benches? Real life feedback?
     
  15. dariusz M macrumors newbie

    dariusz M

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #15
    I just tested the Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580 on a Mac Pro Early 2009, dual quad core 2.26 Hgz, running High Sierra.

    The card works OOTB.

    However the results are 1/3 lower to what the card gets on Windows 7 Boot Camp (on the same machine of course).

    Does anyone know if I'm missing something? Should I do anything more to unlock the full potential of the card?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    I think there is nothing wrong, just the driver on MacOS side is as poor as usual.
     
  17. owbp, Nov 22, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2017

    owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #17
    While on the subject, same CPUs etc
    Screen Shot 2017-11-22 at 9.19.14 AM.png
    Who knows what is happening with OpenGL in macOS, except that it is still on ver 4.1...

    Did you use OpenGL or DirectX in Windows?
    OpenGL score will be better in Win, but DirectX will be much better!:)

    EDIT:
    Forgot to add DirectX, same settings from Win10
    Heaven_Extreme_GTX680.PNG
    As you can see, two different worlds.
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #18
    Good point, DirectX is default on the Windows side.
     
  19. MarkJames68 macrumors 6502

    MarkJames68

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #19
    What’s interesting is the min FPS for Windows.
     
  20. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #20
    Maybe, but just one big maybe, it has something to do with Windows 10 being on extremely slow HDD and macOS on SSD?
    Those frame drops usually occur during scene change in Heaven or Valley benchmarks (although i did let both test run one full circle before starting benchmark).
     
  21. MarkJames68 macrumors 6502

    MarkJames68

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #21
    Could be. Just was interesting as an outlier.
     
  22. dariusz M macrumors newbie

    dariusz M

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #22
    @owbp I used DirectX
     

    Attached Files:

  23. dariusz M macrumors newbie

    dariusz M

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    #23
    After posting my benchmarks from WIndows 7 bootcamp it went hostile on me minutes after :)

    While testing the card on Rise of Tomb Rider on windows bootcamp after a few minutes the Mac Pro suddenly switched off dead and I couldn't turn it on for a few minutes. Eventually it started - the graphics card was very hot.

    My suspition is that the fans on the RX580 don't turn on at all while on windows 7 - they do work on Mac OS. I wasn't able to install original graphics card drivers for Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 on Boot Camp and I only succeded with radeon crimson re live drivers https://www.techpowerup.com/download/amd-radeon-graphics-drivers/

    Any Thoughts?

    Would an upgrade to Windows 10 help here?
     
  24. h9826790, Nov 24, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2017

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #24
    The Nitro+ do draw quite a bit more power then a reference RX580 indeed. And even worst, because it comes with 6+8 pin. The card is programmed to draw less from the PCIe slot but more from the 6 and 8pin. Depends on how you power the card, if you accidentally hit the shutdown limit on either mini 6pin output. The Mac Pro will hard shutdown, and can’t be turn on until a SMC reset (or may be wait for a certain period of time).

    And because the computer suddenly power off when the GPU is under full stress. The cooler’s fan also stopped to provide any cooling when the GPU is hottest. Therefore, the graphic card is expected to be very warm (or even hot) if you touch it right after the hard shutdown.

    If that only happen in Windows, the solution is simple. AMD driver control panel has Wattman, you can limit the TDP at there, then the card should not able to draw that much anymore.

    Or if you can power the card in better way to avoid shut down protection, e.g. share the loading (between mini 6pins), use SATA power (properly), use Pixlas mod, or extra PSU.
     
  25. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #25
    Since the product page for Nitro+ rates it under 235W, it is most certainly 8 pin that is drawing to much power.
    Download iStat (15 days trial) and see what's the amperage on PCI-e booster connections.
    Distributing that load will bring you back to safe usage of your GPU.
     

Share This Page